The Way To May

I think that it was more than a year ago, that I did a hike in here to try and find May Lake. I didn’t find it on that outing, and I never came back here until today. Again, it wasn’t the greatest day for picture taking, with lots of clouds, and also some rain. However, I’ve had my fill of sitting inside, waiting for this mother of all weather systems to move on.

IMG_0005

The conditions were quite similar to what I had to deal with at Rooster Rock, in my last post. The sun was in and out, with a lot of clouds around, and there was an ever-present chance of rain.

IMG_0007

The temperatures were in the single digits, and there was a fair bit of wind, but not so much in the bush. I was quite comfortable, as I hiked in, and I even got a bit warm after a while. My internal furnace works very well in these conditions. The trouble is, my internal furnace does not have an off switch and, in mid-summer, I tend to over-heat very easily.

IMG_0008

I found the conditions for hiking today to be perfect for me but, again, not so perfect for my camera. I hate white skies and, although not all the pictures I took today have white sky in them, most of them do.

I did go part way down this road the last time I was here, but I turned back, thinking that I was on the wrong road.

IMG_0012

Google Maps does show this route as a ‘road’, but this goes to prove that you cannot trust Google Maps to determine if, what they call a road, is passable or not.

IMG_0013

Parts of this, so called, road weren’t too bad, although a bit narrow.

IMG_0014

There was a little bit of everything, some rough sections, some smoother sections, some water, etc.

IMG_0016

Now we’re getting a bit rougher, and there’s a steep, and long, downhill here.

There’s no way in hell I would ever bring my truck in on this road, and I use the term ‘road’ very loosely.

IMG_0018

All the soil, that might have been here before, has been washed away by the rain, over the years, leaving, what looks like, a dried up river bed.

IMG_0022

Check out that huge boulder on the right hand side. It was leaning as if it was going to roll over onto the trail at any moment.

IMG_0024

It was a really enjoyable hike, although the hills were tough, especially coming back. I’d rather get my exercise this way than on a treadmill in a gym though. 🙂

IMG_0029

If you look closely, you can see a small bridge ahead there.

IMG_0030

The bridge crosses a river that runs from Halfmoon Lake, into Little May Lake.

IMG_0031

This bridge is meant for ATV’s, although it does have a capacity of 5 tonnes.

IMG_0032

Looking back at the bridge, as I continue on.

IMG_0034

Yes, there were hills! This hike wasn’t a real long one, but it was certainly a good workout. It stoked my internal furnace to the max, and I was getting a bit on the warm side.

IMG_0037

This bush road puddle seemed a little on the deep side, as I skirted my way around it.

IMG_0038

If you look at the top of this picture, you can see what that bright white sky does. The camera cannot handle the difference between the darker forest, and the bright white sky. I need either a Polarizing filter, or a Neutral Density filter, so that I can bring the bright white sky into proper exposure. I had a CPL(Circular Polarizing Filter) on order, but the ebay seller sent me the wrong one, and I can’t use it. The seller did give me a refund though, and I had to order the CPL again, from another seller this time.

IMG_0040

Here’s another bridge, over the narrows of May Lake. On the left side, is the main part of May Lake and, on the right side, is what they refer to as Little May Lake.

There was a bit of flickering in this video, but it wasn’t all that bad, so I didn’t edit it out. It started to rain, just as I got to May Lake, so I put the Rain Drop camera in a plastic bag for a while. The rain stopped, after a few minutes though.

IMG_0049

This road/trail continues for a long way still, but I’m not going to go any further for today.

IMG_0053

At least I got to see May Lake this time, even if it wasn’t under the best conditions. I still haven’t had a perfect day for photography, and I won’t be able to make a definitive decision on how the Rain Drop camera is performing until I do.

IMG_0059

It’s certainly working well enough, but is it working as good as the first Canon SX40 that I got? Well, the jury is still out on that one, until I get a completely sunny day.

IMG_0060

I start the trek back, and I know that this will mean a lot of rough, and rocky, uphill.

IMG_0061

As you can see, the leaves are starting to pile up on the ground, after all the windy conditions we’ve been having.

IMG_0062

Level sections, like this, were a pleasure to walk along.

IMG_0063

Hilly terrain ahead.

IMG_0071

Approaching the bridge at the river once again.

IMG_0076

Pretty soon I will be reaching a steep, and rocky, uphill. I noticed this little side trail, going off to the left, and I was sure that this side trail ran parallel to the road I’m on, and eventually would rejoin this road. It crossed my mind that this side road might have been created to, somehow, get around the rough, hilly section of the main road, so I headed in.

IMG_0077

I wasn’t too concerned about getting lost, because I did have my GPS with me, but I really didn’t want to walk all the way back, if I was wrong.

IMG_0078

This was a narrower, less used, trail and, so far, it was an easy walk.

IMG_0078

But, soon it started to head up, and it got rough, and rocky, just like the main trail.

IMG_0080

I saw very few mushrooms on this hike. I guess they don’t like the cold overnight temperatures we’ve been having.

IMG_0084

I made my way up the long, rocky, hill, anxiously looking for the point where it would rejoin the main trail. I sure didn’t want to go all the way back down this hill, and have to walk up another rocky hill on the main road.

IMG_0085

The side trail started to level off a bit, but still no sign of the main trail.

IMG_0088

Ahhh, there it is!

IMG_0089

I’m back on the main trail now, and headed for the finish line.

IMG_0093

You can see a lot of blue sky there, but don’t let that fool you. Shortly after I took this picture, it started to rain again.

IMG_0097

Some colours along the trail.

IMG_0101

The rain started again at about this point, so I had to put the camera away for the rest of the hike back.

IMG_0103

This is Stanrock Road, as I was driving out.

It was a nice hike today, and I’m glad that I finally made it in to May Lake. There are still trails to explore in there for another day.

Leave a Reply

