Early Fall Colours

Just thought I would do a local walk and take some shots of the early fall colours up here. From what I can see now, I expect that the colours this year will be much more vivid than last year. We had a cold snap, and now we are back into warmer temperatures, and mostly sunny skies for a while.

IMG_0008

The colours that we are seeing now are, for the most part, along open areas such as roadways, hydro cuts, or around waterways, where the trees are more exposed. I’ve been deep in the bush, and I can tell you that it’s still pretty green in there.

IMG_0010

Of course, the colours of leaves are not the only colours around. The magic world of mushrooms is also on fire these days.

IMG_0019

As I took a walk, on a local ATV trail, I came to open areas where the vibrant colours could be seen through the green trees.

IMG_0021

It’s such a celebration of life, all this colour, before the big sleep arrives, with it’s monotone whites and greys.

IMG_0028

The reflections off the water double the colourful display at Prodan’s Pond.

IMG_0032
IMG_0037 Panorama

Most of the colourful wildflowers that carpeted this field are gone now, but the trees are picking up the slack nicely.

IMG_0050

Walking along Milliken Mine Road, it’s not hard to find photo-worthy scenes like this.

IMG_0052

I put many hours of walking in along Milliken Mine Road all year round, because I don’t have to drive there. It’s so nice to have places like this, that aren’t too far away, to go to and enjoy the magnificence of the great outdoors.

IMG_0055

Having a nice blue sky only adds to the beauty of it all.

IMG_0058

This is at the end of Milliken Mine Road, looking into the Lacnor Mine site. It’s also the beginning of the Fire Tower Lookout Road, which I will be walking up today.

IMG_0060

A pond along the Fire Tower Lookout Road.

IMG_0065

Once I get about halfway up the Fire Tower Lookout Road, looking back in the distance, I can see Lacnor Ridge. This shot was taken at full zoom which, in the case of this camera, is 35x, or around 840mm in SLR terms. I still can’t get over how unbelievably fantastic this camera is. Again, I’m using my Canon PowerShot SX40 HS.

IMG_0067

Lacnor Ridge once again. Just amazing.

IMG_0076

About two-thirds of the way up the Fire Tower Lookout Road, I found these unusual flowers still blooming. I don’t know if they were dumped here, or if they are wildflowers. While I was bent over photographing these flowers, a lady in a van stopped and asked me if I was okay, since I must have looked like I was ready to cash in my chips from the long uphill climb.

IMG_0077

Here, behind an array of colours, you can see one of the communications towers at the top of the road.

IMG_0080

A single leaf in colour. I took a number of shots of these single leaves because it’s amazing how different, even the same species of tree can look.

IMG_0087

This is Lacnor Ridge again, on the way down. I used to call this Pole Ridge, when I didn’t know it’s proper name, and if you look closely, at the top, right side of this photo, you can see the old hydro pole sticking up into the sky.

By the way, I don’t take pictures from the Lookout anymore because it faces south, into the sun, and the colours just get too washed out for my liking. I do have a CPL(Circular Polarizing Filter) on order, and that may help with these types of situations. We’ll see.

IMG_0103

Back down at the bottom of the Fire Tower Lookout Road.

IMG_0106

It was such a nice day, after we just went through that cold spell, so I took my time today, enjoying every second of the beauty.

IMG_0104

More single leaves.

IMG_0110

Right now, I’m looking at getting back out in the kayak on Friday, for some fishing up at Cobre Lake. Of course, I don’t make plans, so that might, or might not, happen. Again, we’ll see.

IMG_0121

This single leaf almost disappears in a mass of colour.

IMG_0122

It won’t be long until all these leaves are carpeting the ground.

IMG_0134

A Great Blue Heron, hiding in the shadows of the waning daylight, on the side of a pond along Milliken Mine Road.IMG_0135

My hiking stick, stuck in beside a big mushroom, just to give some sense of the size of these things.

IMG_0140

Another, interesting, single leaf.

IMG_0142

It looks like this one can’t make up it’s mind. Must be a female leaf. 🙂

IMG_0143

All Maple leaves, but so different.

IMG_0145

One last mushy, as the sunlight fades.

Leave a Reply

