Gone Fishin’

After checking the local forecast, I was about to throw in the towel for this month, since they were calling for unfavorable conditions for the rest of this week. However, you can never let down your guard, when it comes to weather forecasts, they can turn on a dime, and quite often do, around here.

I really don’t know how they get off calling themselves ‘forecasters’ when all they really do is look out the window, and tell us what they see. Hell, I can do that, and I’ll be right every time! So, as it goes, I was able to get up before sunrise this morning to give this fishing business a real shot, no exploring, just fishing.

IMG_0009 Panorama

This was the scene, as I arrived at Popeye Lake, again, this morning. No spectacular sunrise today, but a nice morning nonetheless.

I was about to put all the knowledge I had accumulated from my online research to good use.

IMG_0012

As you can see, the water was nice and calm, and it would remain that way for most of the time that I was here today.

IMG_0030 Panorama

The lake was half and half. The east side was cloudy, and the west side looked like this. Go figure. I started out by trying some trolling. I found an easy way to set up my rod, so that it wouldn’t interfere with my paddling, and I trolled, back and forth, down the middle of the lake.

I used a different lure, each time I made a pass, but there were no takers. I then tried some casting for a while, again, with different lures…..nothing. After that, I decided to do some drifting, and jigging, but not a damn thing worked.

I really don’t know what else to say. I’m trying but nothing I do is working. I put in a good 5 hours of just fishing today, with no results. The only other thing that I can do is try some live bait. I couldn’t catch any minnows in this lake either. However, just as I was about to give up, I went back to pick up the minnow trap, and there was a small sunfish in it. I then decided to go back out, and give this little guy a shot. I made a short cast to deploy the live bait, and it went flying off the hook. 🙂

I guess that says it all then. I suck at fishing. Hey, I had a hard time finding something that I can’t do. 🙂

On a lighter note, I did get to witness a rare moment in the wild. A chorus of Loons;

I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many Loons all in one place. I like the way they took their last bow too.

IMG_0059

Anyway, I’m not going to let the fact that I suck at fishing bring me down. I stand tall, and proud, without shame. After all, everyone sucks at something, don’t they?

IMG_0003

I know that this guy sucks at a lot of things, running, and jumping to name a couple.

I hung in there as long as I could, but it was all for naught. I’ll give it another shot at some point but, for now, I think I’ll stick to exploring. I’m tossing around the idea of doing an extended solo kayaking trip in Rocky Island Lake. It is a massive water system that is begging for exploration. I’m not sure when that might happen, but it is one of my options up for consideration.

I know that I haven’t mentioned the ebike project in a while, for anyone who is interested in that stuff, but that will come at some point too. I’m just not sure when yet. It’ll happen when it happens.

Upcoming also will be an exploration of the Boland logging road. It’s a real long bush road that goes into the wilderness, to the east of highway 639. It follows the Boland River for quite a ways too. The Boland River, itself, might make a nice paddle. It winds its way through the wilderness, north of Mississagi Provincial Park, in a snake like fashion.

So many interesting things to do. All in good time.

Leave a Reply

