Won’t Be Long

The way things are going, it won’t be long until I’m back in the paddle again. My hands are getting better each day, and I don’t expect it will be more than a week until I’m ready to give it a go.

Even though I’ve been taking it easy on my hands lately, there’s nothing wrong with my feet, so I went out for a nice walk today, up to the Lookout Tower, and I did some more wildflower watching as I went.

IMG_0008

The white water lilies are very prevalent now, in the swampy areas.

IMG_0010

They are definitely not at their peak yet though.

IMG_0012

Most of the birds have finished nesting now, and the young ones are out and about, learning how life works.

IMG_0021

Colour is the order of the day, in the open areas, and along the edges of the bush.

IMG_0027

There are so many different types of wildflowers everywhere.

IMG_0028

Even the end of this log looked like an interesting picture to me.

IMG_0031

I never get tired of wildflowers, and it’s always neat to find ones that I haven’t seen yet.

IMG_0039

This raven was giving me the ‘evil eye’ as I was walking up the Fire Tower Road.

IMG_0046

Looking out of the Cupola, that used to be on top of the Fire Tower, that’s part of the town of Elliot Lake down there.

IMG_0058

This picture was taken from the bigger Lookout building.

IMG_0068

A tunnel through the bush, on the way back down.

Here are some pics of wildflowers that I took on the way back;

IMG_0072

IMG_0074

IMG_0086

IMG_0090

IMG_0091

IMG_0092

IMG_0093

IMG_0096

IMG_0097

IMG_0099

IMG_0104

IMG_0107

IMG_0108

IMG_0109

IMG_0121

IMG_0133

Wild strawberries.

IMG_0130 Panorama

So, life has made it easy for me to rest my paddling hands, after I injured them on my last outing. We’ve had some heat/humidity, some rain, and mostly windy conditions lately. I probably wouldn’t have gone paddling anyway, so that was a bonus. As for my intentions, when I do feel that my hands are up to it, I’m not really sure. I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I will be doing a solo camping trip at some point this summer, and I will also be doing a camping trip with my brother, and his son. In between those, I’m sure that I will be attempting some more fishing trips, that usually turn into sight-seeing, and exploring day trips, so that should keep my paddle busy.

I am still looking at getting a smaller kayak for remote lakes trips, but that will only happen if it happens. My eyes are open, but I do not see. YET!!

I haven’t forgotten about the ebike either. It’s still on the back-burner, because it requires my full attention, when I do decide to get back into it.

I have purchased a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2, to take over from the ipod/GPS setup that I was using to this point. I like the ipod setup, but I’m just finding that the screen is too small for map reading. I will do a report on how the Galaxy is working out, when I’ve had a chance to use it.

And so it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

