Hidden Lake – Another Notch in my Paddle

In my last post, I was talking about aborting the fishing trip to Flag Lake, and I said that I would be back the next day. Well, surprise, I’m not going to Flag Lake today. I couldn’t get this Hidden Lake out of my mind, and I really wanted to get into it, since I was assured that no one else would be there. It’s more than likely that this lake is not over-fished either, since the access is so difficult.

Yep, that same access will be difficult for me too, especially carrying my kayak on that steep trail. I’ll just take it easy, step by step, inch by inch, and I should be okay. After all, this is the exact reason I stayed here in Elliot Lake, to explore these kinds of places that aren’t so easy to get to.

My Recreational Map shows Hidden Lake as having Brook Trout, so it’s quite possible that this could be my hidden treasure, when it comes to getting some Trout in my diet. Come along with me, and see how things go, or don’t go, since I’m not absolutely sure I can do it.

I really wish I was able to get some shots of the trail head, and the trail itself, but it was just impossible. Like I always say, you really don’t know, unless you are right there. The moment I got out of my truck, I was descended upon by the waiting hordes, and they wouldn’t let up completely, for the whole time I was there.

I got there just as the sun was coming up, and I did stop at Flag Lake to get some sunrise shots there, before I continued on to the access point to Hidden Lake.

IMG_0005

It was still, somewhat, dark, as I was driving along highway 108 this morning.

IMG_0007

I made a quick stop at Flag Lake to get a sunrise shot there, and then I made one of the toughest, and roughest accesses I’ve ever done into Hidden Lake. There was no time for pictures, heck, I barely had a chance to catch my breath, as I forged my way through the bush, being partly carried by the mosquitoes, and black flies. The adrenalin was at full volume for sure.

IMG_0010

I was met by a beautiful sunrise at Hidden Lake. Was it worth it, after going through that hell to get in there? Well, I guess, right now, as I’m writing this, it was. However, if you’d asked me that same question when I was on the trail, my answer might have been much different, and maybe not appropriate for all ages. Just keepin’ it real. šŸ™‚

IMG_0011

As I got my stuff ready for departure, I realized that my bottle of water had fallen off the load I was carrying, so I had to go back and look for it. Of course, I found it almost all the way back at the beginning of the trail. I had carried all my stuff, and the kayak, down to the lake in one load, but I would have to carry it out in two loads, since it would be uphill coming out.

IMG_0009

This is the only shot I was able to get, looking back at the trail coming into Hidden Lake, and I took my life in my hands getting even this shot. Every breath I took, I would end up with a mosquito in my mouth, or up my nose. You can’t really see any trail, because it was not very well used. As a matter of fact, a couple of times I had to stop and look very carefully to see which way it went.

IMG_0012

I made a hasty launch, getting one of my feet soaked as I did.

Anyway, I was here now, and I was going to try and make the best of it. It looked like a good lake for fishing, but the only thing on my mind right now was to paddle like hell.

It was not hard to tell that I was under a certain amount of stress during that video. But, as I always say, it is what it is.

Once I settled down, and I had a look around, I could appreciate the nice little lake that Hidden Lake is. One thing for sure, if I’m ever desperate to get into a lake without any people around, there’s always this one. Most people would take one look at that trail coming in and get the hell out of there. It wouldn’t even be possible to run that trail in an ATV.

IMG_0047

A good example of, what’s known around here as, ‘pudding rock’. It’s a bunch of smaller stones, with a higher melting point, all mixed up in a mass of stone that has a lower melting point.

IMG_0051

I was fishing as I was moving around, but I was also exploring too, as well as taking pictures, and videos, so there’s lots to do on these outings. And remember, I also have to keep one hand free to swat mosquitoes. šŸ™‚

So far, I wasn’t having too much luck in the fishing department. I was only using my Mepp’s Black Fury, and I could have tried other lures, but the bugs were just too bad to be fussing around with different lures.

IMG_0096

There were some weeds in this lake, so I thought that Bass would certainly be a possibility. However, I never saw one Bass today, in fact, I never saw one fish today either.

IMG_0098

I never gave up fishing, for as long as I was there, but it just wasn’t to be. I did find a nice campsite though, which is right on that point over there. I have a video of that area coming up.

I even got a few drops of rain today, to make things interesting, as you will see in this next video.

IMG_0104

There were no active rivers running into, or out of, this lake. There may have been rivers that only run high in the spring and fall, but they were hidden well in the surrounding bush.

And then, the silence was suddenly broken;

Sandhill Cranes have a very distinctive sound that is unmistakable.

IMG_0128

Here, I’ve come ashore to check out, what looks to be, a good campsite.

I’ll mark this campsite on my maps, for reference. It was quite nice. This would make a good weekend campsite.

IMG_0154

There was a little bit of blue sky, but not a lot, while I was at Hidden Lake today.

IMG_0187

There were a few yellow water lilies getting ready to grace the world with their appearance.

IMG_0190

Another local resident didn’t seem too bothered by me being here. There are usually two, so I’m guessing that the other one is keeping the eggs warm.

IMG_0171

Nope, not taking off, just shaking the water from its feathers.

IMG_0193

And so ends the story of Hidden Lake. I got a lot of bites, but none of them were from fish.

Leave a Reply

