Spring Trip 2014 Part Four

We had just arrived at our new campsite, after taking down the campsite we had put up at the Kindiogami to Mewburn Lake portage. This new campsite would prove to be the best campsite we stayed at on our Spring Trip. It’s always nice to explore these, new to us, areas, and find out where all the good campsites are, in case we want to do a return trip one day. I mark all the campsites we stay at on my maps too.

Most of the campsites we stayed at on this trip were not marked on any map, and some of the ones that were marked on the map, just weren’t there anymore. So, this information can be very useful for us, or for anyone else who might want to do a similar trip.

IMG_0666

We settled in to our new campsite, as evening approached. I didn’t find the black flies quite so numerous at this site, probably because it was a more open site, on a windswept point, although it wasn’t all that windy while we were there. However, even a slight breeze can help, since black flies are not strong flyers.

IMG_0670

There were two areas to land on this point. My brother landed his canoe on one side, and me and my son landed our kayaks on the other side. This was, also, very convenient, since some of the campsites we stayed at didn’t have a very large area for landing, and the areas they had were fairly rough, and rocky.

IMG_0671

There was ample room on this site for all of our tents to be spaced out nicely. Here you can see my tent, in the foreground, and my brothers tent in the background.

IMG_0672

My son’s tent was not far from mine, but on the other side of the point, with a different, but just as stunning view.

IMG_0673

If we ever come back to this area, I know that this campsite will be at the top of our list.

IMG_0676

As the sun sets, on our first night here, you can see the outlines, in the darkness, of me and my son’s kayaks on the other side of the point, where we had landed.

IMG_0687

Everything about this campsite was perfect, even the orientation for sunrises and sunsets. We would get even more than that, as you will see.

IMG_0690

Two, freshly caught Speckled Trout, wrapped in tin foil on the hot coals, and a baked potato, with butter, for dinner. Not a bad menu to end a long day of paddling, moving camp, and just enjoying the surrounding beauty.

IMG_0695

Satisfied campers, taking in the night air, and the warmth of a nice campfire.

IMG_0698

In memory of my good old coffee pot, which had seen many a campfire with me over the years. When I returned home, I found that it had a hole in the bottom of it. Rest in peace, life goes on.

IMG_0701

Early the next day, the sun rises on my son’s tent.

IMG_0702

This is my son’s kayak. It’s a modified Dragonfly 2. I say modified because he made some changes to update it to be similar to the latest model called the Lagoon 2. I have now purchased a similar kayak, with two cockpits, so that I can put my camping gear into the front cockpit, and paddle from the rear cockpit.

IMG_0711

I’ll still use my present AdvancedFrame single kayak for day trips, but I’ll use the larger DragonFly 2 XC for these longer camping trips. The Packlite will no longer be used for anything.

IMG_0719

After breakfast, on the second day at this campsite, we decided to head out on Mewburn Lake to do some more exploring.

IMG_0723

This would be an epic paddle, since we covered nearly all the shoreline of Mewburn Lake.

IMG_0725

You see that dark mass over my brothers head? That’s a black fly in front of the camera lens 🙂

IMG_0729

Again, we followed the shoreline closely, in exploring mode, which is a bit more difficult for my brother to do than for me and my son, due to the fact that there is more chance of hitting rocks along the shoreline.

IMG_0740

My son gets out to check out another possible campsite, although we had no intention of moving at this point. We just like to know where all the campsites are for reference.

IMG_0744

As you can see, it was another beautiful sunny day, and it was getting quite warm too.

IMG_0745

I always love the quiet beauty of it all. For the record, we are not yelling back and forth at each other while we’re paddling. We might stop now and then to have a few words but, mostly, we’re just paddling along quietly.

IMG_0747

Of course, three different individuals, even if they are all from the same family, have different ideas on things like, how fast to paddle, where to go, where to stop. It takes a bit of time to iron out how to travel comfortably, as a group.

IMG_0749

We’re getting to the point now where our differing styles are blending together to create a more fluid, and enjoyable paddle for all three of us, as a group.

IMG_0754

With me being the older and, arguably, more experienced of the group, I try to nudge the guys, as best I can, into a more complementary pace, and style of paddling. It can sometimes come across as criticism, which is not looked upon very kindly by most people, so I have to be aware of that, as much as I can.

IMG_0759

Now that’s what I call ‘hugging’ the shoreline. Can you imagine the scene if a Bull Moose came charging out of the bush right now 🙂

IMG_0765

Even writing this blog post of the events on our trip could be interpreted differently by the other members of the trip. I write from my perspective, and the other guys might have seen things differently than I did. However, what other perspective can I write from, other than my own?

IMG_0772

Wait a minute. Which way are we going? Don’t make me look bad now guys, after I just finished saying that we are paddling better, as a group now.

IMG_0773

Time for a break from paddling. I often wonder just how many strokes we take, when we are out on one of these longer paddles.

IMG_0785

Me and my brother landed on a small island, that’s my son making his way over. It’s always nice to get out and stretch your legs, after paddling for a long time.

IMG_0801

Well, I guess there’s more than one way to stretch your legs.

IMG_0787 Panorama

The view from the island we landed on.

IMG_0791

My brother, taking a GPS reading. I’ve been using a GPS enabled ipod for my GPS, and topo maps, but I’m now finding that the screen is too small for me, so I will be switching to a Samsung Galaxy Tab for my GPS maps on the next trip. It has a 7″ screen, so it will be easier for me to read. Just a roundabout way of saying I’m getting old. 🙂

IMG_0794

I’m doing some exploring on this little island. There were a lot of ant hills on this island, in fact, many of the places we camped, we saw a lot of ants. One of the islands we camped on had so many ant hills that we named it Ant Island. None of these islands have a name, so we’re allowed to name them.

IMG_0797

Again, from the small island we’re currently on.

IMG_0802

There’s one of those ants now, along with a bee on some flowers.

IMG_0804

We hit the water, once again.

IMG_0806

To this point, we hadn’t seen another boat, or person, partly because this lake is not as easy to get into as some others. You have to do that portage at Kindiogami Lake to get in here, or else fly in.

IMG_0811

It’s always interesting to see what’s around the next corner.

IMG_0814

A little jostling here and there adds to the enjoyment also.

IMG_0825

I often hear people say, “I like ROCK!!” Well, they should come here.

IMG_0840

There were a lot of rocky points, just like this one.

IMG_0842

We found an old cabin, which looked like it had been used as some kind of religious retreat. Here you can see the cross on that point, just ahead of my brother’s canoe.

IMG_0846

After we had rounded the point, we saw this strange structure, like a small teepee made out of wood, visible beside my brother’s canoe up ahead.

IMG_0851

Ahh! Another rocky point, and another corner. Who would have thought?

IMG_0854

Let’s take a look in here.

IMG_0859

Low bridge ahead!

IMG_0860

Looks like an accident waiting to happen 🙂

IMG_0866

We pass by another small island.

IMG_0869

Waiting by the point.

IMG_0877

Mewburn Lake is a deceptively large lake, with lots of shoreline. It is 200ft deep, at it’s deepest point.

IMG_0879

There are lots of little bays, and inlets to explore, and also some pretty big bays and inlets too.

IMG_0884

Where did everybody go? I guess I’m falling too far behind.

IMG_0886

We’ve come down a long bay, where, at the end, we will find the Friday Lake portage. It’s a 450m portage, with a lot of uphill, that leads over to Friday Lake and, from there, you can get to Rocky Island Lake, which we visited last fall.

IMG_0889

Nope, we won’t be doing that portage today. In fact, I’m not sure I’d ever want to do it. A half a kilometer of that kind of high country?

IMG_0893

We turn, and head back out of the long bay.

And that is the end of Part Four of Spring Trip 2014. I will continue with Spring Trip Part Five soon.

Leave a Reply

