Victim of Circumstance

I know things have been quiet here, especially since it is spring, and I would normally be out every day that I can. However, circumstances have conspired against me and, after that long, cold winter, I find myself still struggling with weather conditions, in order to find a decent day to do anything.

It’s been cool for this time of year, and it’s been quite rainy also. It seems that we get one relatively nice day, and then we get six days of rain, wind, and cold. Today had promised to be one of the rare nice days, as far as the forecast was concerned but, as we got closer and closer, that nice day, between all the rainy days, slowly melted away and, when I got up this morning, it was cloudy.

Nevertheless, it was the warmest day we have seen so far this year, so things are improving. I woke up at around 5am, and looked at the clock/weather station that I have beside my bed. The temperature outside was 4 degrees. However, by 10am I couldn’t believe that it showed 17 degrees outside. Now thats a fast change in weather.

Which brings me to my next excuse for not really getting out there yet. Fast changes in weather patterns nearly always spell trouble for my head. My head is a very sensitive barometer, and it usually acts up in the spring. So, not feeling all that great did play a part in my circumstances of late, although weather was the main factor in all of this.

I really wanted to take the recent addition to my exploring equipment, my ultra-light kayak, out for a trial run, before our week-long spring trip with my son and my brother. It looks like that is not going to happen now, because we have rain forecast for the rest of this week. If I do see an opportunity, and I’m feeling better, then it might be still doable, but it’s not looking likely right now.

Heck, it hasn’t even been nice enough to take pictures, so I don’t have all that many to add, and the few that I did take today weren’t all that great either. Here’s one of some signs of life after the ice age.

IMG_0011

I also saw a group of Cormorants out on Horne Lake today.

IMG_0002

I know, pretty weak stuff but, like I said, circumstances.

As I always say, it is what it is. Still, next week will be a go for our Spring Trip, no matter what the circumstances are. So, I will try to perk things up a bit here with my next post.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Better weather and brighter days are coming. Hang in there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

