One Sunny Day

As soon as I put the last post up about not having a full sunny day for weeks, what happens? Well, we got a full sunny day 🙂

The days are very short now, but I did get out for some hiking to enjoy this rare sunny day. Also, for quite a long time now, these kind of days usually came on the weekends, but this was a Tuesday, so there wouldn’t be as much traffic on the trails today.

IMG_0007

This is Prodan’s Pond, which I showed in the last post, only it was completely frozen then, with rocks on top of the ice. We’ve had a lot of rain and the water levels in all the lakes and ponds is higher than I’ve ever seen it.

IMG_0008

I almost tripped over this grouse before I saw it, and you can see why.

IMG_0015

Walking into the Milliken mine site. I rarely come in this way because many people bring their dogs in here but, since it was a weekday, there was nobody here when I arrived.

IMG_0017

A small no name lake in the Milliken mine site.

IMG_0018

It was so nice to get this one sunny day, I really needed to get out into the quiet wilderness after such a long spell of nasty weather.

IMG_0022

The trail crosses an open field.

IMG_0023

I came out of the Milliken mine site and, as I was walking past the Sherriff Creek Sanctuary, I noticed that they had a new sign, so I went over to check it out.

IMG_0029

The water in the pond at Sherriff Creek, which was also frozen the last time I was here, was also very high.

IMG_0026

This trail is not usually covered in water, and I had to walk on my toes to get through it, without getting a boot full of freezing water.

IMG_0027

On the other side of the trail, just a few feet away, this small pond is still frozen, so the conditions were quite variable.

IMG_0048

There was very little wind today, but you can tell which way the wind was blowing, after that big storm that had just passed through.

IMG_0049

I headed back to town, to make a pit stop at Timmies, and then I headed north to Stanrock Road.

IMG_0051

I figured it would be a nice day to hit Rooster Rock for some spectacular scenery.

IMG_0055

The Rooster did not disappoint. The last time I was here, with my brother, just before our fall trip, it was an overcast day, and everything was wet. The fall colours were not that great this year either.

IMG_0056

Today, it was a bright sunny day, but it was below freezing, and you wouldn’t want to be stepping on any of these ice slides going over the edge. It wouldn’t end well.

IMG_0059

With the colder air, visibility was pretty good for distant shots.

IMG_0065

This is Quirke Lake, which I did a lot of paddling in this summer, but I still have some more exploring to do on the northeast side of the lake next year.

IMG_0070

This is what I was born to do, and where I was born to be. I’m never more at peace, and content, than when I’m in places like this.

IMG_0069

Looking out over this rugged landscape puts things into perspective.

IMG_0072

I never forget that I’m very, very fortunate to be able to do stuff like this.

IMG_0075

It looks so different up here when all the leaves have fallen.

IMG_0079

Is that a Sasquatch? These pictures were taken around 1pm, and you can see how long the shadows are because the sun is so low on the horizon now.

IMG_0077

Again, check out the long shadow of my walking stick.

IMG_0080

Pretty soon everything will be white.

IMG_0081

Through the islands, and to the northeast is where I will be exploring in my kayak next.

IMG_0084

Heading back out, towards the truck, which is parked at the gate coming into the Stanrock mine site.

IMG_0086

I took a different route back out this time, across some of the oldest rock in the world.

IMG_0087

Across, on the next ridge, I saw, what looked like, a small cave going into the rock. Might make a nice bear den for the winter.

IMG_0089

As usual, the quiet out here is awesome.

IMG_0090

Making my way back towards the gate on the bare Canadian Shield.

IMG_0094

And here we are.

IMG_0095

On the way back down Stanrock Road, I stopped at Moose Lake to check it out. I’ve been by here quite a few times, but I never really stopped to explore it a bit.

IMG_0102

There’s a small road that goes in around Moose Lake, and I could hear the sound of rushing water coming from in there, so I headed in.

IMG_0105

There was a rushing river in there, with snow along the banks. Also, there was a nice clearing in there, but no signs that anyone had used it for camping.

IMG_0110

Moose Lake is not a very big lake, and it’s very close to a mine site pumping station, so it’s not on my list of lakes to explore by kayak.

IMG_0111

I made my way back to the truck and headed home, enjoying the scenery and beautiful sunshine along the way.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marcel Madore on November 22, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Thank you for sharing. It sure looks different compare to the late 50s and early 60s and like you say nice and peaceful. The stanrock gate that you showed, is that where the mine site would of been??? If so there was 3 trailer parks right there. One to the right as you face the gate and 2 to the left. One of my brothers has talk about visiting that area in the future. He lives in Toronto now. Maybe if we ever do get to go we could get together and you could bring us around there and I could then show you how the 5 trailers parks where set up the school and the town site for the big bos of the mine over looking up at the big rock. AGAIN THANK YOU FOR SHARING…

    Reply

    • Hi Marcel;

      Ya, I’m sure it is much different than the 50’s and 60’s. I’ve seen old photographs of some of the mine sites, and I can hardly recognize them, the way that they look today. I’ve also read about the trailer parks in these mine sites but, for the most part, any sign of where they were has long disappeared. The decommissioning process involves transforming these mine sites back, as close as possible, to their original natural form. Trees were planted and mines were closed up and covered with earth or, in some cases, with concrete slabs. There are some concrete foundations still visible from buildings that used to stand on the mine sites. I would say that the most visible and certainly the most noteworthy features of these mine sites, are the huge rock dams that were built to prevent contaminated water from entering the surrounding environment. I, quite often, walk on top of these dams, and some of them are very long too.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Bruce Barr on May 10, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    I lived at the Stanrock mine site in the 60’s in the houses down the hill. I was hoping to see what is left of the site now compared to when I lived there. Do you have any pictures? I would like to see if my old tree house is still there lol.

    Reply

    • Hey Bruce;

      If I don’t have pictures of the area you are referring to, I would certainly be willing to go back and get some. I go hiking in all the mine sites quite often, so it’s no problem for me. I will send you a Google Map of the area and, if you can mark the area you would like to see, I can take a lot of pictures in that one area. When you say “down the hill”, are you referring to the area of the Stanrock 2 shaft? I will mark some areas on the Google Map for reference purposes.

      Reply

      • Posted by Bruce Barr on May 19, 2015 at 1:35 am

        Down the hill is the road left at the junction. It leads to the town site at the bottom of the hill. As I recall it was fairly steep going down. I marked a few houses on google map for you. That small pond S,E, of our house we used to play hockey on until the lake was sufficiently frozen over.

      • Hey Bruce; Ahhh, so that’s where the townsite was. I have been down that way before, but I never actually went into the townsite area, so it will be interesting to go down there and look around. Unfortunately, my truck is giving me some trouble at the moment, so I’m not sure when I will be able to get over there. Thanks for marking those areas on the map, it makes it much easier for me to picture the setup down there. I will get over there, as soon as I can, and I will let you know when I do.

      • Hey Bruce;

        I have now done the hike to the Stanrock Mine Townsite, and I put the post up on my new blog. You can find it here;

        https://presentlywandering.wordpress.com/2015/05/21/stanrock-mine-townsite/

Leave a Reply

