Hurry Up and Wait

The weather has been real nasty up here for quite some time now. Ever since I completed that fall trip, with my son and my brother, I don’t think we’ve had one full day of sunshine. Mostly, it’s been windy, raining, and cold.

We’ve had some real cold nights, and some of the smaller lakes and ponds do have ice on them, but the bigger lakes are still mostly open. However, the wind and rain have put the kibosh on any attempts to do one last kayak trip before the big freeze sets in.

IMG_0006

This pond, known locally as Prodan’s Pond, is completely iced over, although I wouldn’t be walking on it just yet.

IMG_0009

There are rocks on the bottom, and rocks on the top.

Now and then, I have been able to get out for a few walks, when the sun peaked out from behind the clouds for a brief period. I did a longer walk, up to the Lookout Tower one day;

IMG_0012

On this day, the forecast called for mostly sunny skies, however, from way up at the Lookout Tower, I could see massive cloud cover heading our way.

IMG_0013

That was the end of our mostly sunny day, right around lunch time.

It was a nice 16km walk though, so at least I did get some exercise on that day.

IMG_0015

You can see that most of the leaves have fallen off the deciduous trees now.

We have had some snow on the ground, but nothing is staying just yet. It’s mostly been sloppy and wet outside, which is not very pleasant for doing anything.

IMG_0021

Aside from the few walks I’ve been able to do, I’ve been mostly spending my time on the computer watching movies/shows, researching things I intend to do, and playing outdoors-type games, like Deer Hunter.

Basically, I’m just waiting for some sunny weather to come this way, so that I can get back outside and enjoy the great outdoors. Even if there’s snow on the ground, I’ll still go on hikes, although I might be relegated to walking on the snowmobile trails if the snow is too deep.

I do have indoor projects to work on this winter, but I need to hold off those for a while, until funds become available. So, it’s all hurry up and wait at the moment. But, I can’t say that I’m all that concerned about it. I had a great summer season, so a bit of down time between seasons is fine.

Leave a Reply

