Quirkaholic

Today I went back to Quirke Lake to continue exploring areas that I have not paddled yet. When I first paddled Quirke, I remember saying that I would probably not be back there too much, because it was a big lake, and tends to get angry very easily. However, I’ve been back to Quirke Lake numerous times since then, and it seems I’m becoming a Quirkaholic.

Since today was supposed to be a very calm day, I figured that I would paddle a different area of Quirke Lake than I had in the past. This time I would go up the west shoreline, to the northwest corner of the lake.

Also, since this was going to be quite a long trip, I decided to get up early for this one. It was still dark outside when I left for Quirke this morning. It was also very foggy, so navigating would be a bit of a challenge.

I ended up taking over 600 pictures and 2 gigs of video on this trip, so I’m going to have to wait until tomorrow to finish this post, so that I can leave the videos to upload overnight.

Okay, after a good night’s sleep, I’m ready to take you along on a trip to Quirke Lake. It’s just north of Elliot Lake, with access being off Stanrock Road at the boat launch.

As I’ve already mentioned, it was very foggy when I arrived at the boat launch. Even though I knew that the sun was just rising, there was no evidence of that where I was. It was pretty cool too.

Anyway, I assembled my equipment and hit the water. Soon I found myself lost in an earthbound cloud.

I do know the first part of the area that I was paddling in, so that helped to guide me, somewhat. However, it’s amazing how quickly you can become disoriented when you can no longer see landmarks that you’re used to seeing.

As I continued to paddle along the east shoreline, I was watching for any known landmarks to come into view through the fog. I knew where the point was, where I needed to cross over to the other side of the lake, and I did find it, eventually. However, I did take at least one wrong turn along the way, just because I couldn’t see where I was going.

Even though the fog did seem to be clearing up in that video, it wasn’t long until I was shrouded in mist once again. But, now I was on the correct shoreline, so following it was no problem at all.

I paddled for a while, until the fog started to lift again, and then I put my video camera on the front deck of the kayak for a while. This is probably the longest video I’ve put up yet.

I did, eventually, get a quick shot of that Bald Eagle, but it wasn’t a very good one. The only reason I was able to get this shot was because the eagle got into an argument with a crow, and that deflected it’s flight path a little closer to where I was, but still not all that close. I was at full zoom when I took this picture, so the detail is lacking, but you can clearly see its white tail.

IMG_0175

That picture was taken much farther ahead in my trip, so I’ll have to back up a bit now.

IMG_0015

This is what I was facing, when trying to navigate my way through the fog. I did have my GPS with me, but I didn’t feel the need to pull it out at this point.

IMG_0020

I knew that, once I reached the west shoreline, all I had to do was follow it to the north end of the lake. However, I did use my GPS to locate where I was on the way back down, through the islands.

IMG_0057

The fog is lifting.

IMG_0064

Getting better, but still some high fog.

IMG_0067

At least I can see under it now.

IMG_0080

There are some bright colours around, but it’s nowhere near full colours yet.

IMG_0087

Quirke Lake is a rugged and rocky lake. Most of the lakes up here are, but Quirke is particularly rocky.

IMG_0091

With the mist still lifting, I made my way along the rugged shoreling, watching, listening, and just feeling the quiet aliveness of it all.

IMG_0112

There are so many scenes along the way that are so vivid and alive, but pictures just can’t capture the reality of it all. These are just lifeless examples of the real thing.

IMG_0137

The Rooster’s Hen. Across the lake from Rooster Rock, there’s another high peak. It’s not actually called The Rooster’s Hen, the name just seemed fitting. I don’t know if this high rock has a name or not.

IMG_0142

It’s very rare that Quirke Lake is this calm, so I’m going to take full advantage of it today.

IMG_0144

People who have paddled a lot will know that, sometimes when you see something across the water, and you paddle towards it, it seems to take forever to get there. Distance across water is a lot longer than it appears to be.

IMG_0164

I like to explore all the bays and inlets along the way, so I tend to hug the shore as I go, instead of jumping across open water, from point to point.

IMG_0157

The last of the fog is now dissipating and the warming sun is very welcome.

IMG_0182

Taking pictures becomes much easier now with the clear air, the calm water, and the blue sky. And, of course, the most important factor, the lighting.

IMG_0185

In a way, I feel a bit sad posting these pictures because they just don’t, and can’t, capture the essence of what it is actually like to be there, and feel it.

I just pulled in here to take a leak, but it was a very scenic spot.

IMG_0196

IMG_0192

On the map, I had seen that there were a number of beaches along this shoreline too, so off I went to do some more exploring.

IMG_0209

There are islands in the middle of the lake. I’ll be coming back through those on the return trip. However, I still have a long way north to go yet.

IMG_0213

Now that’s a big rock!

In fact, I didn’t see another person on the whole trip today, that’s 7 hours!

IMG_0217

IMG_0225

IMG_0226

IMG_0231

Moving along the shoreline, past the high rock now.

IMG_0237

More rock. There’s not much soil around here anywhere.

IMG_0244

I grew up in the Rock Era so, of course, I like rock πŸ™‚ However, I never, ever, play music while I’m paddling. That would be a sacrilege. The only reason I play music while I’m hiking is to make any bears aware that I’m in the area. It’s good for them and it’s good for me. This way there are no unnecessary altercations that might be bad for the bear, or ‘gulp’ for me. But, my music is always at a level that I can hear, even small sounds, from the surrounding area.

IMG_0270

It’s always interesting to see what’s around the next point but, at the same time, I’m enjoying what’s right in front of me too.

It’s a small beach, but sometimes there are interesting things to be seen, like tracks of animals.

IMG_0277

Nice dark-coloured sand.

IMG_0279

Looking back from whence I came.

I left that little beach, and continued along the shoreline in a leisurely manner.

IMG_0295

If you look closely at this picture, you will see the moon, right between the trees. It’s been following me all morning, begging me to take it’s picture, so the opportunity presented itself.

IMG_0297

I see another beach ahead.

This video was cut off short. The camera I use for video ran out of memory. I guess I took too many videos. I’ll have to get a bigger memory card for it.

IMG_0300

The same beach. These beaches are all located on the Quirke mine site, so that’s why you don’t see any signs of camping or ATV’s.

IMG_0307

This is Denison House. It’s the only building left standing on the Quirke mine site. Seems like it was once a very posh structure but, as I found it today, it seemed like it needed some repairs. Here’s some more information on Denison House, for anyone interested;

http://www.electricscotland.net/canada/elliot11.htm

IMG_0315

The journey continues.

IMG_0317

IMG_0323

The land you see in the distance is the north side of Quirke Lake.

IMG_0326

IMG_0332

IMG_0345

IMG_0348

There are all kinds of rocky points along this section of the shoreline.

IMG_0350

I see another beach there, however, there won’t be any more videos in this post, since that camera ran out of memory. I don’t like the video that camera I use for still shots takes, so I will just be taking stills from here on.

IMG_0357

This will be my lunch beach, since I’m almost up to the north shore, and I’ll be heading back south soon.

IMG_0360

A fine place for lunch, don’t you think?

IMG_0368

IMG_0362

IMG_0371

IMG_0376

Relaxing after lunch.

IMG_0378

A short walk along the beach, where I saw some bear tracks.

IMG_0367

Then it’s time to hit the water again.

IMG_0391

I’ll be heading out to the left side of that island, and then threading my way back south through the islands.

IMG_0402

Getting there.

IMG_0412

I found this seagull standing guard on the island. It didn’t seem too afraid of me. Good guard.

IMG_0419

Around the first island, and heading for the next. With this change in direction, there will be a noticeable darkening of the pictures because of shooting into the sun.

IMG_0422

I did see some wave action, when crossing between islands, even though there is almost no breeze today. Not much, of course, but it doesn’t take much to get Quirke all excited.

IMG_0427

Small island ahead.

IMG_0434

I’ve seen some islands on Quirke Lake already, and most of them have been rocky and uninviting, as is this one.

IMG_0441

There are huge boulders lurking just under the surface of the water around here, so boaters beware. I’ve also seen places right out in the middle of open water where the bottom rises, almost to the the surface.

IMG_0443

This island was not much more than a bunch of rocks with some trees growing on them.

IMG_0437

A great place for birds to land, but that’s about it.

IMG_0445

I headed south, towards another island.

IMG_0447

As I was crossing between islands, I looked west, across the lake at the Rooster’s Hen, which I passed this morning. Doesn’t look all that far does it? I estimate it would take me between 45 minutes to an hour to reach it from here.

IMG_0449

See that gap between the small island and the big island? That’s where I’m headed. The larger island is Roman Island. Yes, some of the islands do have names. You can check where I am on the map above.

IMG_0459

Here I am in the gap. Anyway, as I mentioned, the large island to the right is Roman Island. It is mine site property, so no camping, not that I’d want to anyway. All the mine site islands have signs on them. The island to the far left, however, is not signed and it actually looks like it might be a worthy island for camping, not quite as rocky as most of the other islands.

Still, you have to remember, if you come out to camp on this island, you may face difficult waters the next day if you’re heading home.

IMG_0460

Again, this is the island, just north of Roman Island, that I feel could be camped on.

IMG_0462

This is the point, on the east side, of that same island. I didn’t see any signs of an existing campsite on the island, but I didn’t go ashore to check it out. I would camp on this island, but would do so with caution. It’s a long paddle back to the takeout, and it could very well be a rough one.

IMG_0463

There’s the next gap I’m going to take. Like I said, I’m threading my way through these islands to reach the shore that will take me back to the boat launch.

IMG_0467

That’s still Roman Island on the right. It’s a big island. The smaller island, while it looks nice, is unsuitable for camping because of the steep incline on all sides.

IMG_0469

It looks like it’s just a small round island, but actually it’s not. That’s just the profile from this particular perspective. Once I got a bit past it, I could see that it was longer than I suspected at first.

IMG_0471

Here are a couple of pictures to show you what I mean about ‘shooting into the sun’. In this picture, I’m headed south, so into the sun. But, once I had passed this tree, sticking out over the water, I turned the kayak around and took a picture of the same scene, but with the sun behind me.

IMG_0475

You see what a difference it makes, in both colour and detail? So, now you understand why proper lighting is so essential for good pictures.

IMG_0483

Heading across to another island, ‘into the sun’.

IMG_0489

Once I got around that island, I could see the shadow of the Rooster himself, ‘into the sun’.

I then turned around and shot a picture of the island I had just passed, with the sun at my back.

IMG_0493

IMG_0488

The Rooster is still a long ways off though, and there are quite a few paddle strokes between here and there.

IMG_0494

Looking back at Roman Island.

IMG_0506

This is the mainland, on the east side of Quirke Lake. I will follow this shoreline, around Rooster Rock, and all the way back to the boat launch.

IMG_0529

In the shadow of the Rooster. Once I pass Rooster Rock, I will turn around, and take some much better pictures of it.

IMG_0546

The Rooster, with better lighting. I no longer paddle too close to the base of Rooster Rock, since that last time I did that a rock came shooting down, like an asteroid, and hit the water like a bullet, not ten feet from where I was.

IMG_0545

I can tell, from looking at the top of the Rooster, that we have not reached full colours yet, because it gets really red up there when we do. Maybe that’s why they named it Rooster Rock, I don’t know.

IMG_0556

I pull away, farther and farther, from Rooster Rock, but I turn around and take some pictures as I’m going.

IMG_0560

A last look, as I head off on the final leg of my journey today.

IMG_0572

The colours on this section of shoreline are a bit brighter.

IMG_0584

This is the point where I crossed over to the west side of the lake, in the fog this morning. It is the narrowest section for that crossing. The Rooster can be seen in the background.

IMG_0590

I’m now headed into the bay, where the boat launch is located. It’s very calm at about 2pm. I’ve been on the water for a full 7 hours.

IMG_0597

This, without a doubt, has been one of the most fantastic paddles I’ve had to date. To have Quirke Lake be that calm, for 7 hours straight, was a true gift from nature.

IMG_0617

I come ashore, a bit sore in the ass, but very grateful for the experience. I hadn’t seen another person all day, but someone arrived at the boat launch, just as I was packing up.

This was a long post, it took me three days to complete it. However, I do enjoy reliving the experience as I’m creating these posts. Who knows where I’ll be heading next.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lee Johnson on September 27, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Wonderful – are those rocks part of the Laurentian Shield? If so, they are among the very oldest rocks on the planet. This is an ancient setting.

    Reply

    • Hi Lee;

      Yes, this is the Canadian Shield, also known as the Laurentian Shield. You really do get that feeling that you are in a ancient, yet so much alive place. I can’t think of any better way to get close to who we all are, and where we came from. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

