Hiking the Highways 5

It’s been wet and cool for the last few days, so I was anxious to get back outside for some enjoyment. I, actually, started to do this trip yesterday, but was turned back by rain. However, the weather forecast promised mainly sunny skies for Sunday, so I was confident that I could do my 5th installment of Hiking the Highways then.

I mean, how could the forecasters be wrong? With all that fancy tech equipment, and satellites, it’s very easy for them to forecast the next day completely accurately.

As I stepped out the door on Sunday, it started to rain. It rained off and on, as I drove toward my destination for today, which was the parking area just beside Mississagi Provincial Park. It also rained for the first part of my hike along the highway, but I was undeterred this time. My own internal forecast was telling me that it was going to clear up later today, so off I went, to the north.

IMG_0006

I prefer to do these hikes on Sunday, since there are no logging trucks running then.

IMG_0005

The wildflowers are still in bloom up here, and they will be until the bitter end. Amazing things, they start early in the spring and go until the big freeze.

IMG_0002

Even when they go to seed, they’re still pretty neat looking.

IMG_0007

Of course, there were many signs of fall around too, now that we are officially into that season.

IMG_0015

Looking across Jim Christ Lake, you can see the kind of skies I was dealing with today. Not the greatest lighting for taking pictures, but it is what it is.

IMG_0016

On many maps, this lake is identified as Jim Christ Lake, however, the sign here says Christman Lake. I’ll have to see if I can find some history on the naming of this lake.

IMG_0019

With this cool weather, the mushrooms are in full swing now too. I saw many different types on my hike today.

IMG_0021

As I was doing the first part of my hike today, I remembered that I wanted to see if I could find access to Flack Lake. It’s a fairly big and open lake, which is not my favourite to paddle, but it is quite scenic, with Mount Baldy being on the western shore.

I knew that it was on the left side of the road, and I found this trail going into the bush at about the right place, so I followed it for a while.

IMG_0022

It brought me to an ATV trail, which had a bridge running across a river that I assumed must flow into Flack Lake.

IMG_0023

This is the river flowing up to the bridge, in the direction I had just come in.

IMG_0026

This is the other side of the bridge, so Flack Lake must be out that way. However, the river is not navigable from here, so paddling to the lake from here would not be possible.

I did not go further, to check how far the lake was which, in hindsight, I should have done. I’m guessing that I just didn’t see an easy way to continue along the river.

IMG_0028

I headed back out the trail that I had come in on.

IMG_0029

I can’t pass an interesting looking mushroom without taking its picture, so you will be seeing a number of mushroom pictures on my hike today.

IMG_0030

Mushroom on quartz.

IMG_0031

One of the local bears agreed to take my photo along the trail. The tube you see hanging over my left shoulder is attached to my CamelBack, which is in a small backpack. It is full of iced tea, blueberry today, which keeps me hydrated on my hikes.

IMG_0032

Back out on the road now, I see the sign designating Flack Lake. There is another road entrance to Flack Lake, which is controlled by the Provincial Park. I passed it by right now, but I will enter that road on my return trip. The reason I decided to pass it by was, I know it is a pay entrance, so I wasn’t all that enthusiastic about it. There are thousands of square miles of beautiful wilderness up here that costs absolutely nothing, so why pay for it?

IMG_0033

As I headed further north, you can see that there is some blue sky trying to creep in, but you can also see that the road is wet, since it was still raining lightly. The cloud cover never really cleared up for most of the day. There were some breaks in the clouds though.

IMG_0036

More mushrooms.

IMG_0037

Blue skies make such a big difference, when taking ‘landscape’ type pictures. Dull, cloudy skies are fine for closeups, but killer for landscapes, unless the clouds are interesting in some way.

IMG_0041

There are definitely signs of fall along the roadway, but I expect that we won’t reach full colours for another week or two yet, depending on the weather.

IMG_0047

It definitely looks like the sky is clearing here, but that clearing was patchy. Still, it was nice to get a little warmth from the sun, since the temperature was still in the single digits.

IMG_0048

These are small puffball mushrooms. If you break them open, a cloud of powder will explode into the air. Spores of the continuum.

IMG_0054

White berries, on the bright red stalk, nice contrast.

IMG_0057

As I’ve mentioned before, this road is very lightly travelled, and I can walk for long periods, without seeing a vehicle pass.

IMG_0077

As a kid, I remember daydreaming about being the last person on earth. Everyone else had disappeared, for one reason or another. I was the only one left. I used to love that feeling, and I still do to this day. I can still find places that give me that feeling and this is one of them. Roads with no cars. Miles and miles stretch out ahead, with no one there except me.

IMG_0082

Further north, I walked off into this ATV trail. I saw large tracks in the sand, either moose or elk, I couldn’t tell.

IMG_0080

At an intersection in the trail, I saw this sign. Me, my son, and my brother will be heading up this way in the next couple of weeks, for a week long camping/paddling trip.

IMG_0084

As you can see, the clearing skies did not last, and I was back into overcast conditions, with a light shower here and there. I hadn’t planned on any particular turnaround spot because, in some areas, the resolution of the Google Maps is not good enough to see spots that I can park my truck in. So, I figured that I would just continue walking for as long as I felt like it, and then start looking for a spot that I could park my truck for the next segment of Hiking the Highways.

IMG_0085

I had gone up and down some huge hills, but I was still feeling full of energy, and I knew that the Boland River was not all that far ahead, so I decided to head for it.

IMG_0086

This is the ATV bridge that crosses the Boland River, on the east side of the highway.

IMG_0087

This is the Boland River. It flows from east to west, and this shot is pointing east, so the river is flowing towards me. It might make and interesting paddling trip, if I was to paddle into the east, against the flow. I wouldn’t paddle down river, because I could easily get caught in a current that I could not paddle back against.

IMG_0088

Looking west, from the ATV bridge, you can see the bridge over highway 639. I hung around here for a while, checking the place out. Not a single vehicle passed while I was here. Like I said, it feels like I’m the last person on earth.

IMG_0092

The ATV bridge, from the highway bridge.

IMG_0097

The Boland River marks the northern boundary of Mississagi Provincial Park, as this sign designates.

IMG_0098

This is the entrance to the Boland Road, a long logging road, penetrating deep into the wilderness. It doesn’t have as many small lakes along the way, as some of the other logging roads, but it does follow the river for most of the way. I’d like to explore this road at some point.

IMG_0102

Exploring this road would best be done on Sundays, when the logging trucks are not running.

IMG_0104

I walked a short way down the road, just to get a feel for it. It feels……………isolated. I like it 🙂

IMG_0099

More interesting mushrooms.

IMG_0100

My next segment of Hiking the Highways, will take me in that direction, north of the Boland.

IMG_0107

The long road back to the truck, with the ominous clouds still lingering.

IMG_0109

On the west side of the river now, it seems like a nice deep river, which would be good for fishing and paddling. I wonder what it would be like here during the spring melt?

IMG_0117

Looking west, with the flow. It looks like it would be fairly easy to paddle against the current here, but I’m sure that the flow will pick up substantially in some places down river.

IMG_0132

The return trip has begun.

IMG_0136

I climbed up on a high rock ledge along the road, to have something to eat. This shot was taken from there.

IMG_0140

Mushroom and moss sat, quietly, beside me on the ledge.

IMG_0141

This is the ledge I was sitting on, from the roadway.

IMG_0143

This is only a small taste of what’s to come.

IMG_0147

Wild and free, as every life form was meant to be.

IMG_0157

Decorated rock. That’s unusual.

IMG_0158

The road is like a roller coaster, in some places.

IMG_0160

The geologist checks out the rock layers.

IMG_0164

The snakes are still out and about. Never seen one like this before.

IMG_0053

Here’s another one. A different kind this time.

IMG_0168

The walking man walks.

IMG_0170

Colours abound.

IMG_0174

IMG_0177

IMG_0179

IMG_0184

IMG_0193

IMG_0206

Skateboarding anyone?

IMG_0218

Things did brighten up, somewhat, later in the afternoon.

IMG_0224

As I mentioned earlier, I did stop in at the Provincial Park access to Flack Lake on the way back.

IMG_0227

This is what’s known as a “Self-Serve Station”. There are no park staff at this location.

IMG_0226

Here’s a closer look. As you can see, it’s $14. to park here for the day. There is no camping allowed here.

IMG_0229

Another sign, giving the map details of this area.

IMG_0228

Me, my son, and my brother have already paddled some of the routes on here.

IMG_0231

This is the ‘picnic area’. One picnic table, and a fire pit, on a rocky shoreline, that’s all.

IMG_0232

This is Flack Lake. You can see Mount Baldy at the end there. There is a trail going to the top of Mount Baldy which would be a nice one to hike.

IMG_0234

This shot was taken from the picnic area along the shoreline.

IMG_0238

This is the boat launch area, which, for all intents and purposes, is the only reason anyone would want to come in here. The docks, themselves, are old, and feel quite weak. It looks like the floating parts have been taken out, already, for the season.

IMG_0239

There is a 1km long hiking trail, near the boat launch.

IMG_0243

As I said before, I would like to paddle the perimeter of this lake, at least once, because it seems like a very scenic lake. However, you won’t catch me paying $14. to park my vehicle here. Even the senior rate of $11. is an outrage.

There are only two access point to Flack Lake, as far as I can tell, and money controls both of them. One is this one, which the province controls. The other one is at Laurentian Lodge, which I also passed along the way today, but did not go in that road.

IMG_0242

No camping!

IMG_0248

Two pit toilets were available, for those who don’t want to go where the bears go.

IMG_0253

There were lots of mushrooms in here too.

IMG_0254

The road coming in to the Flack Lake access point.

IMG_0261

Back out on the highway.

IMG_0271

A small pond along the road.

IMG_0276

IMG_0281

IMG_0284

I was thinking, as I passed this big slab of rock, that this would make someone a nice natural tombstone, just sitting there, for the taking. Any takers? I’m not quite ready yet.

IMG_0288

And here’s a flower to place beside it. No need to spend lots of money.

IMG_0291

Late in the day, and the sun is shining.

IMG_0305

A little spruce tree growing on a rock face.

IMG_0306

Keep your eyes on the road here. It’s either off the high side, or into the hard side.

IMG_0310

And so ends this segment of Hiking the Highways. A good time was had by one and all. Well, by one anyways.

Leave a Reply

