Exploring Cobre Lake

This was my first time into Cobre Lake, although I’ve driven past the road going in there before. As with most of the bush roads going into these lakes, it was a very narrow, and somewhat rough, road. When I got into the lake itself, there was one vehicle in there, never something I like to see. However, as it turned out, I never saw another person on my trip around Cobre Lake.

There is a long trail that goes into the bush here, and I assume that the person who owned that truck was doing the trail, which is a good 12kms long.

Anyway, my usual way of starting these type of posts off is to upload a video of the starting point, which I will do but, that will take a fair amount of time on YouTube, so I’ll start with a couple of pictures of my preparations for the paddle.

IMG_0001

This is the sign that greets you, when you arrive at the trail-head, which is also the lake access point. It’s a relatively new sign, which was placed here just last year. I want to do this trail at some point but, today, I’m here to paddle the lake, and scope the area out.

IMG_0002

This is the lake access, which is visible from that sign. It was a clear and sunny day, although somewhat cool, with a bit more breeze than the weather forecast had predicted.

IMG_0003

Here’s the sign right at the trail entrance, which starts with a short boardwalk section.

IMG_0004

From what I’ve heard and read, this is a very steep and rugged trail, which one needs to be prepared for. There are some very high lookout points on this trail.

IMG_0007

Here I’m preparing to inflate my amazing Advanced Elements kayak. I’ve put this kayak through hell and back, and it continues to take me anywhere I want to go. I feel very secure paddling this kayak, and I don’t take it easy with it either. I drag it, I run it up on rugged shorelines, I run over logs and rocks in the water, and it just shrugs it off. It’s also extremely stable in rough conditions.

IMG_0008

In five minutes it’s fully inflated and ready for the next adventure.

IMG_0009

In the water, with Cobre Lake awaiting.

As I mentioned in the video, Cobre Lake is a very deep lake. The deepest lake up here that I’ve paddled on, besides Dollyberry Lake, which is also around the same depth, at about 200ft. But Dollyberry Lake is a much bigger lake than Cobre Lake, and it’s also not as accessible as Cobre Lake is. If I was fishing for Lake Trout, Cobre Lake is where I would go. The water is crystal clear, and I would have no problem eating fish out of this lake.

As I continued to paddle the shoreline of Cobre Lake, I came to the conclusion that this is not a lake that will have a lot of campsites around it. The terrain was just too steep and rocky, along with heavy bush, so finding a level spot that would suit a campsite would be very difficult indeed.

However, I did come across one small possibility here;

It’s a small site, but it is secluded, and there seems to be enough space for a couple of small tents. Someone had obviously camped there before, although I believe the best time would be early, or late in the season, because these bush sites can be very nasty in bug season.

IMG_0017

You can see here, that the shoreline is not very accessible for camping purposes. It’s like this for most of the way around Cobre Lake

IMG_0035

Here’s that possible campsite again. You can see why I chose not to go ashore. I could see the whole campsite from the water anyways, so I didn’t have to struggle to make that landing.

I continued along the shoreline. Come along with me for a while;

There are some places, along the shore, where the bottom drops off drastically, and there are other places where it is quite shallow a hundred feet out from shore.

IMG_0047

Here you can see some mossy-type weeds on the bottom. I didn’t see any of those floating weeds, such as lily pads and such. I guess the water is mostly too deep for those.

IMG_0057

There were very few clouds in the sky, and that was good because I needed that sunshine to keep warm. Anytime I went into the shade, I started to feel the cool creeping in. I don’t know what the exact temperature was, but I suspect it was in the single digits.

IMG_0067

I came across this pile of gravel on the shoreline. I suspect it had been left there from the mining era. It certainly didn’t look like a natural occurrence.

IMG_0068

Now I’m headed towards that area in the distance that looks like it might be a beach. In fact, it was a gravelly beach, so I landed on it to take a look. Let’s check it out;

Well, that was interesting. I’m always sad to see that ATV’s have gotten into these places. Even though it’s quiet today, the spirit of remoteness, and solitude, has been lost in some ways.

IMG_0074

Still, this kayak has gotten me into some places that I never would have seen otherwise, and I’m very grateful for that. These kinds of experiences may not be for everyone but, for me, it’s what I live for.

IMG_0084

When I paddled under this leaning white pine, I actually looked up at it, wondering if it was going to pick this moment to come crashing down into the water.

IMG_0085

Well, I guess it didn’t fall, ’cause I’m still here. Maybe next time.

IMG_0092

Pretty soon these hills will be on fire with colour. In some years, it doesn’t last too long, maybe about a week. The weather can be wet and rainy and windy, which can strip the trees of that colour quickly. We’ll just have to wait, to see what happens this year.

IMG_0094

I’m getting close to my put in point now. I haven’t seen a soul since I got here, and that’s the way I like it.

IMG_0111

Take out point dead ahead.

IMG_0112

One last look back at the rugged hills surrounding Cobre Lake.

IMG_0113

Back to where I had parked the truck. When I got in there, I found that there was a second vehicle, along with the one that was there when I first arrived. There were no people around, so they must have all taken the trail.

Anyway, it was a very nice paddle today. Cobre Lake is certainly not all that camper friendly, but it’s a very picturesque lake. I did find that one small campsite, or one could choose to camp on the beach area, if the threat of ATV’s arriving to dim the wilderness experience doesn’t put you off.

However, it does look like a very good fishing lake. Maybe I’ll give it a try some other day, when I turn 65 and can fish without a license. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

