Portage to No Name Lake.

Well, I was finally able to get access to Gander Lake today, and it just happened to be a very calm day, which is great for paddling, so off I went into the unknown, once again.

Here’s the route that I took. It was a very quiet day, which made my explorations all that much more enjoyable. I wasn’t early this time though, it was about 11am when I put in to Gander Lake. I hadn’t really planned on going today but, like I said, it was a calm day, so I just grabbed my stuff and I went.

It was an overcast day, so pictures will suffer, somewhat, because of that. I was fairly confident that we weren’t going to get any heavier rain, because I checked the radar before I came out.

IMG_0002

This is my first time paddling Gander Lake, and I wanted to paddle the whole perimeter of the lake, so I headed down to the west side of the lake first.

IMG_0010

It looked like a pretty typical lake for this area, with rocky outcroppings here and there.

IMG_0015

No crack in the rocks around here goes wasted. Plants and trees depend on these cracks, since there is not all that much soil in most areas.

IMG_0020

As I continued along the shoreline, the water was like glass, and the reflections were perfectly clear.

Listen to the silence;

IMG_0023

I did see some spots that looked like they would make good campsites, but nothing official, although there were some rings of rocks that appeared to be old fire pits.

I put the camera on the front deck of the kayak to see if I could give you the feeling of paddling along with me;

IMG_0026

I saw this dip in the treeline, on the far side of the lake, and I figured that this looks like an area where a river might flow through to the next lake, so I headed for it.

So, it appeared that this could be a possible area for a portage to the next lake. I looked around a bit.

IMG_0028

It was a very nice landing spot too.

IMG_0044

Do you see a trail there? It’s hard to see, but it is there. It’s certainly not well used though.

IMG_0046

You might be able to see the trail a bit better here. I headed into the bush. Last time I did something like this, I almost ended up as a bear’s dinner, but that’s not gonna stop me from exploring.

IMG_0048

I can see an opening ahead, I must be almost there.

IMG_0032

As I stepped out of the bush, I saw this dead tree, and I took note of it. That trail was not easy to see, but this dead tree certainly was. Pay attention young explorers. Always notice landmarks when you are in an area you don’t know. They will come in handy later. You’d be surprised how everything starts to look the same once you leave a certain area.

After I had carried all my stuff through the portage, I headed off into the no name lake to explore.

IMG_0049

This lake was smaller than Gander Lake, so it wouldn’t take me too long to paddle around it. However, I took my time and explored every little nook around the lake.

Actually, the next lake over wasn’t Cinder Lake. After I checked the map, I saw that there was another small no name lake in between here and Cinder Lake.

IMG_0057

This was a nice little lake to explore, with all kinds of interesting areas along the shoreline.

IMG_0065

I leisurely made my way around this small no name lake, stopping at the more picturesque places to take a photo or two.

IMG_0075

I made my way, in a clockwise direction, around the no name lake, here are some shots I took along the way;

IMG_0081

Flowers on top of a beaver dam.

IMG_0089

IMG_0098

IMG_0140

It looks threatening, but I didn’t get any rain on this trip.

I reached the portage, once again, and I crossed back over into Gander Lake.

IMG_0176

Exploring the east end of Gander Lake.

IMG_0178

Back to my put in spot, where I had parked the truck. Another fine exploration trip in the books. I have my sights set on another lake now, it’s called Rye Lake, and I haven’t even seen that one yet, so be on the lookout for that post to appear soon.

Leave a Reply

