Creating Enjoyment

As I often say on my blog, my first, and foremost, purpose in life now, is to enjoy it, as much as possible, while I still have it. Also, I’ve often mentioned that I’m a man of means, by no means, so I do have to weigh the benefits of any purchases I make.

Whenever I see something that I feel might increase that most important enjoyment factor, I go through the process of weighing the benefits against the cost. This forces me to find the cheapest and most cost effective ways of adding to the enjoyment factor, in a way that mitigates financial risk, under my current circumstances.

My usual ‘go to’ source is ebay. Especially since I’m up here in no man’s land, with very few cheap local sources for much of anything. Shipping costs can be a factor, but I’ve found that, if you spend the time to search for free shipping on an item, you can usually find it.

I did operate a business on ebay, at one time. However, competition is fierce, and you really need to make, at least, 50% profit to survive. To do that, you must have a cheap supplier for the product(s) you wish to sell, or make and sell.

I’m not in that business anymore, but I do still find that ebay is the one greatest source of deals to be had, if you are patient, and have the time to search relentlessly. I used to be very wary of buying stuff from China, but I’ve found that this can be a great money saver. However, there are fantastic deals to be had right here in Canada too.

I thought that I would do a post about some things that I’ve picked up on ebay, that compliment my enjoyment of life. Of course, these types of things will be different for everyone, but the process will be the same.

I’ve already posted about the cameras that I get on ebay, and I did purchase another one, not too long ago, for $29., which turned out to be my most used camera recently. I’m not going to go into cameras in this post though. This post will be about something else that gives me great joy.

Music has always been a source of joy for me. I’ve posted about my search for a suitable travel guitar, and I now have one, which I’ve customized to my own personal preferences. This was all done at a very reasonable cost, which caused no hardships to my financial situation.

I do realize that there are people who’s financial situations are more challenging than mine but, I’ve found, where there’s a will, there’s a way. Freecycle was once a great source of finding items that interested me, but that resource is not very prevalent up here. It does exist, but not many people participate in it. I tried to do my part by giving away an older laptop recently but it seems that this did not spur any others to take the leap.

Anyway, as far as music goes, I’ve added a couple of items, via ebay, to my enjoyment stuff in recent days, and I thought that I might post about them, so that others might know that there are ways to have these kinds of things without breaking the bank.

Since I’ve been here in Elliot Lake, I’ve been thinking about how to make the winters more enjoyable, when I can’t get outside as much. I do listen to music a lot, and I like to attempt to make it myself too, even if I’ll never be a rock star 🙂

I found a seller on ebay that sells returned items from the store Best Buy, and I got into the habit of checking what they have up for auction. This is where I got all those cameras from too. Like I said, you have to be patient because much of this stuff goes way too high in the bids when people get caught up in it. It takes discipline to know when to back down and stop bidding, or when to recognize that the item may not be worth bidding on.

Recently, I picked up a 61 key Casio keyboard, which retails for around $300. CAD, for just $29. It had one speaker that wasn’t working, which I promptly fixed the same day that it arrived. This keyboard is fantastic. There are so many things you can do with it. It’s more like a synthesizer, as well as a regular piano.

IMG_0006

It’s in perfect condition, no signs of use at all. This will certainly make those cold and blustery winter days a lot more enjoyable. I don’t know how to play it, but I can learn. I’m not that old yet. 🙂

By the way, these two ebayer’s are the Best Buy returns sellers. As I said, not all their stuff goes cheap, so be aware of what everything is worth before bidding.

http://myworld.ebay.ca/2ndturncanada/&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2754

http://myworld.ebay.ca/2ndturncanada-as-is/&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2754

One of them sells ‘as is’ items, and the other sells items that have been verified to be working correctly. The ‘as is’ seller is located in BC, and the ‘working correctly’ seller is located in Mississauga, ON.

I ran into a situation recently, that prompted me to purchase another item, which also complimented the keyboard that I had purchased. The guy that lives upstairs from me seems to have a very low tolerance for any kind of music, even if it’s at a very low volume. He doesn’t, however, have any problem foisting the music that he prefers on the rest of the world.

At first, I had the same human reaction that most of us would have. I just cranked mine up to drown out his, and then he cranked his up even higher :-). As if no one saw that one coming, right? Anyway, I soon realized that this was not going to get me anywhere, so I did the exact opposite. I became as quiet as a mouse.

I know that this would go against most people’s ego’s. Why let this person bully me like that? However, I did get the desired result. After about 3 weeks, this guy didn’t hear a sound coming from my apartment and lost interest in displaying his dominance. It’s relatively quiet, once again, but I did need to come up with an alternative solution for listening to my music ‘under the radar’ so to speak.

Why should I have to bend to this person’s demands? Well, there are billions of fights, and controversy’s out there, in this world, for anyone who is looking for them, and if that’s the way someone want’s to live life, then have at it. I choose to live life in the most enjoyable way possible, and to that end, I don’t mind, at all, taking a step back, and finding a way around the obstacle, instead of pounding my chest and declaring my dominance.

Anyway, I decided that what I needed was a good pair of ‘noise cancelling’ headphones. These could also be used for both my guitar, and my new keyboard. This way I could make all the noise I wanted, and the ogre upstairs would not have to pound his chest anymore, so we both, actually, benefit, even if one of us doesn’t even know it. 😉

I wanted to add this little story in this post because it conveys, what I feel is, a very important life lesson. Sometimes it’s much more rewarding to go around, rather than to confront. Keep your ego in check, and it can be done, very easily.

So, here are the fantastic headphones I ended up with, after much research I might add;

IMG_0001

IMG_0002

IMG_0004

IMG_0003

As I said, I did a lot of research, as I always do when I making a substantial purchase, that has an impact on my modest budget. These headphones did not disappoint. The sound quality is excellent, and they are also bluetooth capable, so no wiring to get all tangled up. Besides that, they have a micro SD card slot, so you can play music without the need for another device at all.

I got these headphones from a China ebay seller for about half the price I could have gotten them here in Canada. They are brand new, and there were no shipping charges, or import duties. They cost me around a hundred bucks which, as I said, is a major investment for me, but I do feel that the enjoyment they will add was worth it.

I don’t like to have a lot of ‘stuff’ but, if I enjoy it, and I use it all the time, then I will make exceptions, especially if it’s a great deal.

4 responses to this post.

  1. This was a very well written piece! I certainly thought it was going to be about paddling so you surprised me which is a good plot evolution to be sure!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Avril Frame on August 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Hey Al ………. pretty soon you’ll be a one man band! You should get Paul to join in next time he’s up ……… I remember that he was a pretty good singer. Sounds like you’ll have an interesting Winter …………. maybe even write some songs. Good for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

