I’m Alive!

How do I know that? Well, I just finished a hike to Lacnor Ridge, aka Pole Ridge. Anytime I want to test my aliveness, I head to Lacnor Ridge because, I know if I can do that hike, then I’m still able to live the way I want to live.

This hike is not for the faint of heart. It’s a full bushwhacking hike, there are no trails, and it is, by no means, an easy hike. Ankle supported hiking boots, and walking stick recommended. This is definitely ankle breaker territory.

IMG_0012

The road going into the Lacnor mine site is almost overgrown. We’ve had a very wet summer, and there was lots of snow this past winter, so there was no shortage of water for the vegetation.

I just pick a spot from the left side of this road, a little further in, and start bushwhacking my way to the top.

IMG_0013

I stopped for a rest and noticed these two acorn tops lying on the ground. It’s funny the things you notice when you take time to stop.

IMG_0081

This is what I mean by “ankle breaker territory”. A lot of these rocks are loose, so when you step on them, they move. It’s like this all the way to the top, and there’s no way around it.

IMG_0014

At the top of Lacnor Ridge, that’s Elliot Lake in the distance.

IMG_0015

It’s a beautiful day, not too hot, but I still sweat like a pig getting up here. It’s quite a workout.

IMG_0017

The little piece of road you see there, in the middle of the picture, is the Fire Tower Lookout road. Those three towers to the left are right at the Lookout. I’m actually looking down on them from up here.

IMG_0020

Looking across this rugged countryside, my backyard, and my endless hiking grounds.

IMG_0029

There is a bumper crop of blueberries this year. I just have to reach down and scoop up a handful. No need to pick them one by one, the ground is thick with them, just like a carpet, they are everywhere. Wait a minute……don’t bears like blueberries? Gulp!

IMG_0031

Looking north from Lacnor Ridge, there are a number of lakes. One of them is Sherriff Lake, and the others are no name lakes, which there are many of in this area.

IMG_0039

The infamous lone hydro pole on top of the ridge.

IMG_0043

A picture that tells a story. Some animal must have been eating blueberries and accidentally gobbled up a piece of plastic. Then, it choked on the plastic, and coughed everything up right here on the top of the ridge. Bear maybe? Better keep my eyes and ears open!

IMG_0054

Quite often, you will hear people say, “someone is watching over you”. Well, now you know who it is. šŸ™‚

IMG_0060

Ah yes, it’s a tough life, this retirement.

IMG_0076

Nothing to do but sit around, and look down on everyone.

IMG_0075

The small backpack I’m wearing has my Camelback in it. It allows me to drink nice, cool, iced tea from a tube, anytime I want it. This is the first time I’ve used it since my son gave it to me as a gift, quite a while ago. I think that I will now be using it on all my longer hikes. Next time I’ll put some ice cubes in it, which will also help to keep me cool, especially with it being against my back.

IMG_0077

Now, I’m as high as I can get up here.

IMG_0078

On the way down. It’s not a matter of ‘if’ you will fall going up and down here, if you do it often enough, it’s a matter of ‘when’. Today, for me, it was ‘when’. I nearly restructured my ass on the way down, and did a bum slide for about fifteen feet before I was able to stop myself. The loose rocks are the culprit. You really have to keep your wits about you when you place your feet anywhere.

IMG_0080

There are some huge boulders on the side of this hill too.

IMG_0081

Climbing up is hard work, but going down is just as treacherous, as far as footing goes.

IMG_0084

A large boulder with small ferns growing on the side of it.

IMG_0087

This huge boulder had a big crack down the middle of it, so I just pushed it apart, so that I could walk through.

IMG_0088

Finally, back down to road level. This is a typical mine site road. All the mine sites have roads like these running through them, and some of them go for miles. I really like exploring these roads, to see where they go. No vehicular traffic is allowed on them, so they tend to be very quiet.

IMG_0092

I could also ride my bicycle along these roads, which is something I want to do at some point. This is one of the reasons that I’m adding electrics to my bicycle this winter.

IMG_0095

What a glorious day!

IMG_0101

I wasn’t the only one getting up there today.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Glad your ok, was starting to wonder really!

    Reply

    • Thanks Wild_E, Actually, I’m better than okay. Life for me now is all enjoyment. This is almost solely because of choices that I made, earlier, that go against the grain of our brainwashed society as a whole. I never talk about those choices on my blog but rest assured, I know exactly how I got here, and it wasn’t because anything the government did for me. šŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Well I am glad, it is the exact opposite for me! I did everything wrong, then bad health and well look where it got me.. LOL..

      • You know what Wild_E, one of the choices I made was to listen to what life was telling me, and showing me. If one is really ‘aware’ they can pick out these little nudges that life gives us all the time, and act on them. The problem is that most people are not ‘aware’ of that part of themselves. Also, one must have the courage to go in the direction that life is pushing them in, even if it goes against everything they’ve been taught from day one, and everything the people around them are saying. I certainly made my share of mistakes in life, but I didn’t, and don’t look at them with regret. I learned, and I moved on, in the direction life was taking me, and I was grateful for it. Feeling sad, or sorry about what life has given you does nothing but make you feel sadder and sorrier. The trick is to find the joy in any situation you find yourself in. Life has put you there to learn something. Always remain aware and allow ‘what is’ to be just that.

Leave a Reply

