The Ice Recedes

I took another run over to Dunlop Lake today, because a recreational map that I recently purchased shows another boat launch farther down Dunlop Shores Road. This launch would be closer to our intended portage on the other side of Dunlop Lake, so I thought I should check it out, to see if it would be suitable to leave our vehicles parked there for a few days.

I drove all the way in, as far as Dunlop Shores Road goes, and I saw no other boat launch. Anyway, we will use the launch that I’ve already scoped out, because it does have a nice parking area and a cottage close by to provide some security.

On my way back out of Dunlop Shores Road, I came across a moose standing in the middle of the road. As I approached, it ran off the road, and a short way into the bush, but I did get a picture of it;

IMG_0005

It was a real nice day, with the temperature sitting at about 20 degrees Celsius, and the ice on the lakes looked like it was barely holding on.

IMG_0007

This is Quirke Lake. I drove over there after I went to Dunlop Lake, because I wanted to check out another possible kayaking spot on May Lake. I’ve been to the trail leading into May Lake a number of times before but, every time I went there, there was a vehicle, or vehicles parked there, so I wanted to wait until I could check it out in peace. However, again, there was a van parked at the entrance to the trail, so I decided to wait for a quieter day.

IMG_0012

The water levels are very high right now, and there are rushing rivers everywhere.

IMG_0011

The temperatures are supposed to stay warm, so I’m guessing that I’ll be kayaking in less than a week.

IMG_0014

This is the boat launch at Quirke Lake, the infamous launch where my truck broke down last summer. I debated whether to turn the truck off, or leave it running while I was here today. I, bravely, turned it off knowing that lightning couldn’t possibly strike twice at the same spot. Gulp!

Leave a Reply

