Rooster Rock

It was just a few days ago that I paddled Quirke Lake and underneath Rooster Rock. After seeing how high it was, I had to find the way to the top. Today I did just that, and it blew me away. This post will be heavy with pictures, and some videos, but the pictures are outstanding. The video didn’t really capture the colours as well.

Also, if anyone would like to use any of these pictures as a desktop background, just right click on the image and choose ‘set as desktop background’.

Rooster Rock is well known around these parts, and it’s even named on Google Maps. It is inside the boundaries of the Stanrock mine site. To get there, I drove to the gate at the Stanrock mine site, and walked in from the gate. It’s not a long walk, but I made it long by taking the wrong road to get there. Still, I wasn’t too disappointed because I found some pretty neat stuff on that wrong road too.

It’s pretty easy to see where I went wrong on this map, but I didn’t have this map when I was there and many of these mine site roads are not marked on the topographic maps I carry with me on my ipod. I just followed what looked like the most well used gravel road, and ended up far from where I intended to go.

Let’s start at the beginning. Here we go;


As I started my walk into the Stanrock mine site, I decided to follow, what looked like, the ‘main’ gravel road. After all, I had checked out the distance on Google Maps before I left and found that, from the gate, to Rooster Rock, was just over one kilometer, so no big deal, right? Not so fast clodhopper.

Hell, I was so enthralled with the scenery, that I didn’t even realize that I was going down hill. Down hill to Rooster Rock, one of the highest points in this area? Go figure. Nevertheless, I continued on my merry way, mindlessly taking in all the natural beauty as I went.

After a while, I came to some type of installation. Here it is;

This pumping station turned out to be a little more interesting than I expected.

Of course, the scenery around it was great, but there was more, upon further investigation.

I followed these two PVC pipes, that came out of the pump house, to a wooden structure, that was, obviously, built to support the pipes through the rugged terrain.

It not only supported the pipes, but it also had a narrow walkway along side the pipes, I guess for the workers to check the condition of the pipes, to make sure there was no damage. At this point, I couldn’t see where this wooden structure went, so I hopped aboard and started following it.

I soon found out some of the hazards that these pipes face.

This walkway was turning out to be an excellent viewing platform. Better than walking through the rugged forest, and easier on the feet too.

I continued along the walkway, with no sign of it ending anytime soon.

On and on it went, snaking through the beautiful surroundings of the fall forest. It ended up being pretty close to half a kilometer long.

At the end of the walkway, were these switching valves, and then the pipes disappeared into the ground.

I turned around to head back. I noticed that there was a lot of animal crap on this walkway too, so the animals must find this to be a convenient route through the forest as well.

On the way back I took some video along the walkway, to give you an idea of what it was like in there.

These must have been the old pipes they used, before PVC was invented. They were tossed aside all along the pipeline. If you notice, they were made out of wood, something like the way wooden barrels were made, with steel wire wrapped around them, to hold them in shape.

As luck would have it, I ran into the pipe inspector on the way back. Here he is;

I think he’s upset because he can’t chew through the PVC.

Anyway, that turned out to be an interesting side trip, and worth the mistake I made of going the wrong way. Speaking of which, since I still didn’t know I was going the wrong way, I continued on, downhill of course, to the next stop.

Finally my brain comes out of hibernation. I got the GPS out and was able to locate where I was, which was nowhere near where I wanted to be, so I had to go all the way back to where I started.

Even though the way back was mostly uphill, the scenery was still quite striking, so that was of some comfort. However, it was an unseasonably warm day and I was sweating like the proverbial pig.

I made it back to the starting point and took another road in the direction I should have gone in the first place. That road took me directly to Rooster Rock, where an amazing sight awaited.

The videos don’t really do the colours justice, so that’s why I’m posting so many pictures.

Rooster Rock is not just one small viewing area, it’s quite a large area, with numerous viewing locations. I spent a lot of time walking along the top to the various locations along the edge of the rocky overhang.

The wilderness explorer, himself, makes a rare appearance.

There’s really not much to say with these pictures. They’re self-explanatory. Just amazing.


It was about at this point when, while I was walking around on the rocks, I spotted something shining. I bent down and picked it up and it turned out to be a ladies ring. It was definitely not a piece of junk jewelry, it had some weight to it and it looked like it had been worn quite a bit. When I got home, I put some ads up, locally, on the internet, to see if I could find the owner, since it may have some sentimental value to them.

I leave you with some more pictures from the top. Feel free to click on any of the pictures for a full size image.

I got so many great pictures up here, but I just can’t post them all, there are too many. So, I leave you with one last video.

Leave a Reply

