Strouth Lake – Last Day of the Year Hike

I’ve been patiently waiting for some favorable weather to roll in so that I could get out on the trails again.  The weather forecasts up here are pitiful, even worse than down south, and they’re certainly not all that great down there.  More often than not, whoever is doing the forecasts for this area, will just look out the window and change the forecast to whatever they see, and it’s always less favorable than what had been forecast just the day before.

However, even though they did that today, the weather was still far better than it’s been up here for a number of days now, so I decided to hit the trails for one last hike of 2011.

There is some snow on the ground now and it varies in depth, depending on where you are.  I didn’t really consider using my snowshoes before I left on today’s hike, but there were areas that they would have been handy.  For the most part, the snow was around five or six inches deep, with some areas that were around twelve inches deep, but they were few and far between.

I’d had my eye on Strouth Lake for a while now and, compared to some of my other hikes, it was not a real long hike.  The total came to around six kilometers but hiking in snow is a good workout and six kilometers was well enough for me today.

This is the entrance to the trail that leads over to Strouth Lake.  It comes off the main road that goes into the Stanleigh mine site, but it actually leads out of the mine property limits, which means that motorized vehicles are allowed around the Strouth Lake area.  As you can see nobody has come this way since the last snowfall.

Looking back on my tracks along the trail.

Looking ahead on the untouched trail.  The track you can see in the foreground is a rabbit track.  I saw lots of rabbit tracks crossing the trail and one predator track, which I guessed was a fox track.

I did get an early glimpse of Strouth Lake, but this trail does not go directly down to Strouth Lake, it goes along the full length of the lake before it actually gets to the edge of the lake.

As usual, the setting was rugged and scenic.

What was supposed to be a sunny day, ended up being a mostly cloudy day, but the temperature was near freezing, so it was quite pleasant, with very little wind.

Of course, there’s lots of white in the pictures and, without a blue sky to add some contrast, it tends to detract from the awesomeness of this country.

A high, rugged cliff is always nice to see.  This area I’m in now, at the west end of Strouth Lake, was once covered with water and , if you look closely, you can see a lot of short tree stumps all around here.  I’m guessing that it had something to do with raising water levels for mining purposes.

Here’s another shot of the area that was once under water.

Here’s Strouth Lake.  You can see how much lower and smaller it is now than it once was.

You can’t see it here, but there’s a small river that runs along the base of this ridge and into Strouth Lake.

It’s not a really big lake but it’s very scenic and, as usual, very quiet in here.  I did hear an ATV in the area but I never saw it, just the tracks.

It sure looked like it was gonna snow but it didn’t.  In fact, the sun did make an appearance when I was on my way out.

A little bit of blue sky on the way back out.

Here you can see my tracks coming in all the way down the trail.

All’s well that ends well, and it was another wonderful hike into the wilderness surrounding Elliot Lake.

For anyone interested, these are the coordinates that I hiked to today.

46.419932,-82.649417

You can just copy and paste them into the Google Maps search bar.  On the map view you can see where the lake used to extend to, and on the satellite view you can see the shrunken version of Strouth Lake.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pauleboy on January 2, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    Happy new year bro. Hopefully, 2012 will bring many new areas to explore and endless trails.

    Reply

    • Yep, every day that I’m able to get up out of bed is a bonus. I don’t think I’ll run out of places to explore up here, there are just too many of them. I’ll let 2012 take care of itself and just concentrate on today. Best wishes to you and your family.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Avril Frame on January 8, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Hi Al,

    My computer died and I have not had email for a month! I got a new laptop now and finally most of my stuff is set up now. Your photos are always great. Where are you living now ……. its starting to get colder. The weather here was definitely spring like on Saturday …..+8. Looks like we are going to get some interesting weather over the next 3 months. Stay warm and healthy …… and keep the photos coming.
    ……….and a wonderful 2012!.

    Reply

    • Hey Av;

      Good to see you back again. How could that son of yours let you go without a computer for a month? I guess he was busy with the kids! The weather has been up and down here too, although we have had days with windchills around minus 30. Yep, I intend to keep the pictures coming. I still have tons of exploring to do and it’s looks like I’ll never run out of new places to explore up here.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

