Before The Snow

I can’t believe we’re almost two weeks into November and I’m still able to put in a 15 km hike without a winter coat.  The sun was out at times today, but clouds seemed to get the best of the day.  However, it was fairly mild, holding at around 7 degrees Celsius all day.  I really had no intended destination as I set out today but, once I got going, I ended up walking farther than I thought I would.

I get my music playing in my shirt pocket and there’s no stopping me.  I walked all the way to the Sherriff Creek trail, and I walked part of the trail once I got there.  Here are some shots from that area.

All of natures systems look ready for winter.

Since it was the weekend, I did meet a few people on the trail today.  Of particular mention was one young lady walking alone, which is very rare in my experience, and I have a lot of experience walking trails.  Also, I met a guy carrying a canister of bear spray strapped to his waist.  He said that he hoped the wind would be blowing the right way, and I said you better hope you’re fast enough with getting that spray out and using it too.

Not only is the sky grey, but most everything else is grey too.  It won’t be long until it’s all white.

It’s so quiet in here.  Even though I play my music, I can still feel the quiet surrounding me.

I imagine all the frogs and turtles have dug themselves a hole in the bottom of the pond by now.  Hibernation is in the air.

Even most of the birds have gone, although some do stay over winter.  I saw some chickadees today and, of course, there are always ravens around.

It wasn’t too windy today either, like it has been for the last few days.

There’s a definite feeling of waiting in the air.  Everything feels like it’s waiting for something to happen.

Soon this pond will be frozen solid.

The water levels are pretty high right now, and Sherriff Creek is chugging along nicely.

The summer is all water under the bridge now.

You never know what might be lurking in the tall grass around here.

They should put a game camera along here and see how many bears use these bridges.

This tree was out on the pathway along Horne Lake.  When I first saw it, I didn’t know what had happened to it.  It looked like it had been struck by lightning or something.  Upon closer inspection, I realized that it was those hard working beavers that took this tree down.

Boy, they really mean business don’t they?

I was still walking as the sun was setting.  Another great day here in Elliot Lake.

Leave a Reply

