Cool Colours

Cool being the operative word here.  It got real cold yesterday, and there was quite a stiff breeze to go with that, so it was definitely inside weather in my book.  The only reason I went outside at all was to shovel the driveway;

Well, ok, I lied.  This is not what it seems to be.  These are just Zamboni droppings from the local ice rink.  Had ya goin’ there for a second though, didn’t I?

The weather of late has been up and down like a yo-yo.  It was hard to tell if it was safe to go walking any kind of distance without being rained on, so these pictures I’m posting today were not all taken today.  They were taken over the last few days, excluding yesterday of course.

I did go back up to one of the mining roads, and I walked in maybe a couple of kilometers after the gate.

The road was paved for about one kilometer in, and then it changed to gravel.

The road splits up in different directions, but due to weather conditions and the fact that I had gotten out a bit late in the day, I didn’t explore as much as I would have like to.

I did find this sign in there which indicates that some work has been done to restore this site to a more natural state.  The reason they don’t allow motorized vehicles in here is because they don’t want people removing radioactive material from the site and into the community.  The so called ‘tailings’ from these mines is something like sand and, in the past, it has been used for building purposes, which resulted in high radiation levels in anything that was built using this material.

There were some rocky and desolate looking areas, but I don’t really think that I went far enough in to have reached the main mining area.  Maybe next time.

It wasn’t all desolate though.  There were some nice scenic spots too, and it was definitely very quiet in here.

I took a few shots from the Lookout Tower that day, but it was too hazy to see any kind of distance.

It seems the mushrooms were happy with the cool rainy weather.

Today was a lot cooler than it has been, but it was great for walking and I did a lot of that.

These last two shots are from Sherriff Creek, which I passed along the way today.

This is the large Municipal Boat Lauching area into Elliot Lake.  It wasn’t too busy today.  Too cold!

Anyway, that’s all for today.  The forecast for the next 7 days shows sunshine every day, so it’s looking good for outdoor activities.

Leave a Reply

