The beginning of the end.

As I was loading the last of my stuff into the truck, preparing to leave for parts unknown, the humidity was heavy, and I was sweating by the gallon.  This was early in the morning too.  I thought I only had a few things left to pack, but I guess I had slightly miscalculated.   I finally got it all done, and for the first time in my life, I was homeless.

I headed north, on a familiar route that I had traveled many time before, while going to a property I once owned.  The truck seemed willing and able to haul all the stuff I had packed into it, and I was very surprised to see that I was getting over 17 miles per gallon.  This was the highest mileage I have ever gotten with the Expedition, so it seems that the more you load it, the better the mileage, or maybe it’s just because it was all highway miles.

It started to rain somewhere around North Bay, and I didn’t know it then, but it wasn’t going to stop.  I was making good time, and I reached Elliot Lake around 4pm, but it looked more like 10pm, since the sky was so dark.  The clouds were only about a couple of hundred feet up, and it was the most dismal day I had seen in a long time.

I had done some research on this area, and I knew that there was a lot of Crown Land nearby, where I could camp for free.  It didn’t take me long to locate a perfect spot either.

This spot was right on the shore of Depot Lake.  It had a picnic table, a fire pit, and there were decent toilets nearby.  Can’t beat that for free.  There was also a boat launch and some docks.

I’m going to add some more pictures of the area but I just don’t have the time right now.  I will fill in the details later.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kennyboy on July 1, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Nice. Looks like the weather cleared up for you. Looks like Roche Rouge! LOL!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Avril on July 6, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Hey Al, you do still have a home …… it’s a mobile home! Looks like you are starting off great. Enjoy your adventure!

    Reply

    • Hey Av;

      The question is, will my mobile home cost me more than a fixed home? Life will always be an adventure, whether I’m stopped at one place, or moving to another. I’m just trying to keep my head above water, so to speak. But, even though the crazy world we live in will be stalking me, I don’t let that ruin my enjoyment of life. Every moment is appreciated and enjoyed to the fullest. I have no regrets about what I’ve done, or what I’m doing. What else can you ask for?

      Reply

  3. Welcome to the other world the world of Mobile Living with your mobile Home!
    nice blog, keep going

    Reply

Leave a Reply

