Ready to go!

I have now finished preparing the truck for departure.  Today, I took it out for a spin, with all the gear loaded, just to see how it handled.  Everything seems fine, and all the weight inside the truck, plus the weight of the RoadArk, hanging off the back,  felt comfortable while driving.

This was quite a relief, since I designed and built the RoadArk inside my small bachelor apartment, without ever mounting it on the truck to test it out.  It just would have been too difficult to get it down from the third floor, and back up again, so I tried, as hard as I could, to envision any problems that might arise when it was attached to the back of the truck.

You can see pictures of the loaded truck under the ‘truck’ heading on the home page.  The RoadArk looked so big when it was in my apartment, but when it’s attached to the truck, it seems to lose some of its size.  You can also see that the truck appears to be handling the weight quite nicely, thanks to the Timbren suspension modifications that I made.  I was more than a bit concerned that the weight might cause problems, but after my test drive today, I’m convinced that this will not be the case.

It is now exactly one week until my departure.  Some people have said to me, “You must be very excited”.  Well, I’m neither excited nor depressed about leaving.  It’s just what I need to do, and so I’m doing it.  I’m sure there will be things that I enjoy, and maybe some not so much.  That’s life.  Life has led me in this direction, and I”m rolling with it, literally.

Since I can only bring what will fit in the truck, I’ve had to get rid of a lot of stuff, mostly by giving it all away.  I sold a few things, but giving things away is more my style.  Besides, I didn’t really have a lot of expensive things, and that too is more my style.   Too many ‘things’ seem to weigh you down, not only physically, but also psychologically.

Stay tuned for my next update.  It might not be what you expect, but it will be what it is, and to me, that’s all that matters.

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul on June 28, 2011 at 7:48 am

    Bon voyages mate! Let me know when the road takes you close to Niagara.

    Pauleboy

    Reply

    • Hey Wally;

      I’m not sure any roads will be taking me near Niagara, but ya never know. I’m in Elliot Lake at the moment. I spent my first night on Crown Land for free, and it was a real nice campsite too. Had a picnic table, fire pit, washrooms, right on the edge of a wilderness lake. Can’t beat that for free. Better than paying the $30. to $40. they want for provincial parks these days. I’ll be posting an update on my blog later today so check it out.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Avril on June 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Happy Trails Alan ………….. you have wanted to do this for a long time ….. so go for it all the way! Enjoy every minute……. and take it all in “one day at a time”. Look forward to reading about your adventures.

    Big Hug and safe journey,
    Avril

    Reply

    • Hey Av;

      Thanks for the well wishes. There is a certain amount of uncertainty with doing this, and even I don’t know what tomorrow will hold. It’s quite different than getting up in the morning, knowing that you will be back in the same bed that night. It will take a bit of getting used to. Anything can happen, so stayed tuned.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

