Challenges will come.

Today, like any other day, I’m thankful to be alive.  A term we often hear in the human institution of marriage is “for better, or for worse”.  But, even though these are just words, I feel they really do point to a way of living.  Here we are, for better, or for worse, and we just have to make the best of it.

When I was younger, I used to take things personally, and that tends to wear you down.  Probably life’s way of telling us that, hey, we’re going the wrong way!  Everyone faces challenges in life, not just me, or not just you.  Some challenges may seem more difficult than others, but it’s been my observation that life will nearly always even things out, in one way, or another.

I’m going to go out on a limb here, and say something that could very easily be misunderstood.  I have zero faith in people, but I have 100% faith in life.  Life is perfect, people are not, so all we can be, is what we are, no more.  We struggle through our challenges, as best we can, but life itself will have the final say.

In the last little while, I’ve had two instances that could have easily ended up in me meeting my maker much sooner than I would have liked, both of them involved brakes.  Today, I was out driving the truck, and I’d been having a bit of a problem with one of the front brake calipers sticking.  It didn’t seem that serious, and I chalked it up to leaving the truck sitting for two weeks without driving it.  I expected that a little use would loosen up the caliper, and that did seem to work on short runs.

I went for a longer run today, and before I got where I was going, I noticed that the caliper was sticking again.  I pulled into a gas station, and I could see smoke coming from the front wheel, so I knew that it was a bit more serious this time.  I figured I’d sit there for a while, and let it cool down a bit, before trying to get it back home.

After a while, I started the truck up again, and I was pumping the brake pedal a bit, to see if I could loosen up the caliper.  Suddenly, the brake pedal just hit the floor, no warning at all, no red brake light on the dash.  I couldn’t believe it.  What could cause such a sudden loss of brakes?  I got out of the truck and started looking around underneath, and there it was, I blew a brake line.  Had I been on the road, or even worse, going down a steep hill on a mountain side.  I would have been in real trouble.

Sure, there is the emergency brake, but I know from experience, when something happens suddenly, quite often there is either not enough time, or you just can’t think straight enough to make use of that.  In this case, I didn’t need the emergency brake, but in another case, that I was in, not too long ago, there was just no time.  Everything was over in just a few seconds.  Hardly enough time to lift a foot, and get it into position over the emergency brake pedal.

Fortunately, I came out of both of these incidents unscathed, except financially that is.  The bill came to around $1,000., mostly labour, because the brake lines were all rusted out, and needed to be replaced, along with some brake parts that were damaged from overheating.

Now, in my younger days, I would have gone into a catatonic state of worry, about where I was going to get the money, and how this was going to set me back so far, and why did this have to happen now?  Well, I’m certainly no better off, financially, now, than I was then, but I am better off in other ways.  I know that this is just life, and everyone has their challenges, including me.  The sun will come up tomorrow, like it always has, and whether I’m there to meet it or not, is largely out of my control.  So, the only thing to do is roll with it, instead of fighting it every step of the way.  Because, in a toe to toe battle with life, we are just mere mortals.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul on May 12, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    In your younger days you also would’ve crawled under that beast and saved the labour costs, while losing most of the skin off your knuckles !! 😉

    Better it happened now than later. Hard to McGiver brake lines out of dandilion tubes and tree sap.

    Pauleboy

    Reply

    • That is absolutely true Wally. In fact, I still do some things myself. I just choose my battles more carefully now. Yes, it is better that it happened now, and in a place where there was no risk to life and limb, mine or anyone else’s. I’m fully aware that it could have been much worse, so I’m ok with the way things turned out. I’ve decided to get CAA Plus, which is good for a 200 km. tow, and it’s valid in Canada and the US. Just in case I have problems with the truck again.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Paul on May 18, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I know this is not the forum for this, but I lost your email address so …….HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! (belated)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paul on May 25, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Changed my email. Same, but @gmail.com.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

