Even the best laid plans

The point of no return is fast approaching, and, as it does, I feel that everything is coming together in an organic way.  As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t really make plans, I just do whatever I feel I need to do, as I go along.  I do it now, in the present moment, without really making a plan out of it.

In any situation there are always options, and the more options one has, the more likely one of them will prove to be useful.  So, with that in mind, I’ve tried to provide as many options as possible for whatever may come.  Nature, and life itself, works in the same way.  It creates a wide spectrum of possibilities, and then environmental conditions dictate which of those possibilities will thrive.  We call this evolution, and, this also is not a plan, but an ongoing process, that takes its cue from whatever is happening right now.

Of course, I couldn’t possibly create as many options as life does, but I just try to help the process along as best I can, by going with the flow, and keeping the possibilities in mind as I go.

To that end, I have been working on an option, should my truck ever meet an untimely end, or some other possible set back, so that I could continue on my journey into the unknown.  With gas prices skyrocketing, and other complications of owning a vehicle, I felt that it would be prudent to have another way of  travelling, a sort of life boat.  A form of transportation that would not require a drop of gas, or any other kind of fuel, and I wouldn’t need any kind of licence, or insurance to make use of it.  No license plates, or renewal sticker required, just the most basic of all vehicles, a bicycle.

I do already have a bike, which I purchased for $15. from an ad on kijiji.  It was a bit beat up, so I took the whole thing apart and rebuilt it, with only a minimum of new parts required.  I also fitted it with a rear cargo carrier, and some saddle bags, but I felt that I might need more than that, so I just purchased a cargo trailer for it.  The cargo trailer will allow me to carry up to 200 lbs., and that may come in handy if driving is not an option. It only weighs 35 lbs. itself, and it folds down flat, for easy storage.

After considering other possibilities regarding the bicycle, I felt that there were some weak links with this idea.  One thing that can sideline a bicycle pretty quickly is a flat tire, and this seemed like, not only a possibility, but an inevitability.  I did some research on bicycle tires, and I found that what I might need are a set of good tires, and a method of protecting them against, or at least limiting the chances of, a flat tire.

Today, I purchased a set of Tioga City Slicker tires.  All the reviews I read about these tires were positive, and it was also noted by many, that these tires were very versatile, in the fact that they could handle some rough surfaces, as well as paved ones, so they were being used as a sort of all-purpose tire, mostly as a direct replacement for the knobby tires frequently found on mountain bikes, like the one I have.  They were also reasonably priced too, which is always a consideration.

So, I felt good about having these new tires for the bike, but new tires alone would not necessarily translate into no flat tires.  Again, I did some searching for an answer, that might provide a somewhat higher level of protection.  There are many ways to help protect against punctures, and many opinions on what the best method might be, so it just came down to making a choice that I felt comfortable with.  The choice I made was Slime MTB tire liners.  These liners fit between the inside of the tire, and the tube.  They have a tough to penetrate layer, and also a type of slime that will fill in any small punctures in the tire.  Like anything else in life, there are no guarantees, but after considering the possibilities, it felt like a worthwhile investment.

My bicycle trailer should arrive from BC next week, and at that time I will set it up and see if I want to make any modifications to it, so that it can carry the necessities required for full-time travelling, should life take me in that direction.  To be honest, I kind of like the idea of travelling so simply, and with very little attachment to the constraints and limitations of owning a motor vehicle.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Avril on April 17, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Hey Al ………… sounds like you have a great backup plan. Now you have guaranteed that your truck won’t break down!

    Happy Trails,
    Avril

    Reply

    • Hey Av;

      Well, it’s not really a plan, it’s just a possibility at this moment. It’s also possible that I might kick the bucket before I even hit the road, and that too, would definitely not be a plan. There are many things that we can’t know, and I’m ok with that. I’m just making the best of what I have right now.

      Alan.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

