Where I am, and how I got there.

So, as the title of this blog suggests, this will be the continuing story of my travelling lifestyle, and it will always be happening now, in the present moment.  This is important to remember, since most of us have been conditioned to live life for the next moment, or, in other words, the future.  We always seem to be reaching out for something that we don’t have, when, in fact, everyone has everything they truly need right now, they just haven’t realised it yet.  If you don’t quite understand this, then just keep reading my blog, and I will attempt to help you understand, and in doing so, also help myself move deeper into the only time that ever did exist, or will exist, and that is now.

When the company I had worked at for 35 years decided to close the doors to it’s manufacturing facility, even though the writing was on the wall for quite some time, and we knew it was coming, it was a difficult adjustment to make.  I mean, when you’re used to getting up and going to work every day for 35 years, it tends to work it’s way into your psyche, and, in essence, you become addicted to it.  So, when, all of a sudden, it’s not there anymore, it’s going to take some kind of readjustment period, in order to process what the hell just happened.

At first, I panicked.  How was I going to support myself?  I was basically living from paycheque to paycheque when we were all let go, so it’s not like I had any backup plan in place.  I needed to find another job real quick, at least that’s how I felt at that moment.  Unfortunately, this was the just the beginning of the big downturn in the economy, and things were going to get a whole lot worse over the next few years.

As the weeks went by, and I started coming out of the fog of uncertainty, I began to realise that there were many things that I just had no control over, and, no matter how much I worried about them, the only thing that was going to do, was make me sick.  When I took stock of the situation, I was alive, I was in relatively good health, and right now at least, I had everything I needed, except a job.  It was what I saw as ‘my future’ that I was really worried about.  I don’t know exactly how, but somehow, I was able to start relinquishing my need for the future.  I was ok right now, and that’s all that mattered, and I would deal with things as they came along, not by worrying about them before they even existed.  This way of thinking, which was not really thinking at all, turned out to be a way of being.  My thinking mind could not deal with the complexities of the human society we had created any longer, so it just shut down, and what was left was just a peaceful allowing.  I just let everything be the way that it was, and didn’t demand that it should be different.

I still looked at the job listings, and I applied for many positions, but I didn’t feel at all desperate about it anymore.  If I got the job, then fine, I would take it, if I didn’t, well, that was ok too.  I was receiving unemployment benefits, and they would be good for nine months, so I started looking for something that I would actually enjoy doing.  I have to say here, that I have heard people asserting that they loved their work so much that they would do it for no pay at all, but, I do feel that, if reality struck, they might just change their tunes, and that song of joy would soon become a fretful lament.

To be continued……..

Leave a Reply

